Citing a dictionary or encyclopedia entryCiting a filmCiting a reviewCiting a work of artCiting booksCiting journalsCiting thesisCiting webpagesIn-text citationPuncuation & quotations
Citing Audiovisual MediaCiting Books & e-booksCiting Conference ProceedingsCiting Encyclopaedia or DictionaryCiting Groups as Authors (govt., corporation or assoc. document or report)Citing Journal ArticlesCiting Newspapers and MagazinesCiting Online Forums or Discussions GroupsCiting Secondary SourcesCiting Thesis or dissertationCiting Web Pages
A guide to HarvardCiting annual reports or corporate plansCiting blogs or listservsCiting books & e-booksCiting brochures, pamphlets or leafletsCiting CD ROMsCiting conference papersCiting emailsCiting encyclopaedia or dictionaryCiting exhibition catalogueCiting film DVD videoCiting imagesCiting journalsCiting legislationCiting Magazines and NewspapersCiting media releasesCiting personal communicationCiting podcastsCiting radio and TVCiting secondary sourcesCiting student practical or laboratory manualsCiting webpagesCiting wikisSample reference list
BibliographyCiting book reviewsCiting booksCiting encyclopedia or dictionaryCiting journalsCiting LegislationCiting previously cited workCiting web pagesQuotingTraditional note
This is the "Home" page of the "Referencing and assignment writing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Referencing and assignment writing   Tags: citing, essay_writing, ielts, referencing, report, resumes, study_skills  

Last Updated: Nov 25, 2014 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/referencing Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Plagiarism

  • Turnitin
    Turnitin has been licenced by the University of Tasmania, as part of a range of strategies to help staff and students manage issues associated with academic integrity.
  • Academic integrity
    This website provides information and resources for students and staff on the topic of academic integrity. You can access the information and resources through one of the entry points on the right.
 

Need more help?

 

Welcome

                                Referencing in your UTAS assignments

Step 1. Before you use this library guide check: Does your School have its own referencing guide? To find out ask your lecturer or tutor.

Step 2. If you are using this guide or another guide and you are still unsure about a particular citation, it is always best to check with your tutor or lecturer - they will be marking your work after all.

Step 3. Refer to the Style Manual. UTAS Library holds print Style Manuals (complete guides) for the following referencing styles: Harvard, APA, MLA, Chicago, Vancouver & Turabian. You can find these manuals on the shelves in UTAS Library branches. To locate these books please refer to the other pages in this guide.

Step 4. If you have followed steps 1 - 3 and you still need referencing help contact staff in Student Learning, or ask at a library enquiries desk, or fill in this web form:  Ask a Librarian

Guide to assignment writing

Quick guides to assist with essay writing covers: Academic Reading, Critical Thinking, Essay Writing, Grammar, Making Better Notes, Oral Presentations, Revising for Exams, Time Management, etc.  The study and writing section of this guide has a list of titles that can be of further assistance for these and other topics.

 

Check with your school(s) as they may have their own requirements.

General layout of assignments

  • All assignments (essays, practical reports, etc) should be typed, word processed or legibly handwritten, on one side of sheets of A4.
  • Double space typewritten or word processed work except for:
    • footnotes which should be single spaced (if applicable) 
    • indented quotations which should be either single or one and half spaced.
  • Each page should have a wide margin of at least 3cm for the marker's comments.
  • Each page should be numbered in either the top right-hand corner or at the centre of the bottom of the page.
  • Make sure pages are securely fastened, preferably with a staple in the top left-hand corner.

Note:  Schools normally have their own cover page template

  • The following information should appear on the cover page of the assignment:
    • Title of assignment
    • Your name
    • Student ID number
    • Name of School
    • Unit name
    • Lecturer's name
    • Due date
    • Date of submission 

Assignment planner

  • Assignment calculator
    Developed by the University of Minnesota Libraries as a way to create a schedule for writing your assignment.
 

Your feedback

Did you find this library guide useful?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip