Two core databases for the disciplines in Natural Sciences are Scopus and Web of Science. They are broad science databases, and include biological sciences, chemistry, earth sciences, mathematics, and physics content. We recommend you either use Scopus or Web of Science as a starting point for your research on natural sciences topics.
International, multidisciplinary, abstract and citation database, citation searches, 22,000+ peer-reviewed journals, books, conference papers. 1966+
International, multidisciplinary, citation database, cited reference searches, 21,000+ journals, books, conference papers. 1900+
In addition to Scopus and Web of Science, you may like to search some of the databases that offer specialised content for the different disciplines within natural sciences:
BioOne's full-text database of 200 leading journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
References to articles on Australian threatened flora and fauna and related topics. 1960+
[archived: no longer updated]
Full-text and indexing database for journals, books and monographs. Covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution and waste management, public policy, renewable energy sources, social impacts, urban planning.
Environmental indexing and abstracts database covering connections between environment and agriculture, education, law, health and technology. 850,000+ records and open access full-text for 13,000 records. Key journals include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment, Forest Ecology & Management, and International Journal of Green Energy.
500,000+ step-by-step analytical protocols, extracted from peer reviewed literature and patent sources. Highlights analytes, matrices, reagents, instruments, consumables and validation information.
Free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 34 million structures, properties and associated information. Owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Register first then login here to search for literature and patents on chemistry, biotechnology, agricultural chemistry, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science, packaging, petroleum products and related subject areas. Includes citation data. Offers capabilities for exploring substructures and reactions. Each user is required to set up their own account.
The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes more than 40 world-leading journals that span the core chemical sciences and related fields.
Covers Australian geoscience, minerals and petroleum literature. Archive only to 2001.
Major Earth Sciences database, includes mining, economic & engineering geology, mineralogy, structural geology, hydrology and all aspects of geosciences. - Coverage from 1933+ (Worldwide); 1699+ (North America). From Nov 2003 onwards GeoRef indexes material from Geoscience Australia.
Online collection comprising the Geological Society of London’s journal titles, special publications and key book series - plus journals published on behalf of other societies.
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is an open access archive containing over one million eprints maintained by the Cornell University Library. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is an open access archive containing over one million eprints maintained by the Cornell University Library. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
NASA-funded project maintaining 3 bibliographic databases: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and ArXiv e-prints . Some full-text and citation links available
Institute of Physics electronic journals
