Two core databases for Marine and Antarctic studies are Scopus and Web of Science. They are broad science databases, and include marine and Antarctic content. We recommend you either use Scopus or Web of Science as a starting point for your research on marine and Antarctic topics.
International, multidisciplinary, abstract and citation database, citation searches, 22,000+ peer-reviewed journals, books, conference papers. 1966+
International, multidisciplinary, citation database, cited reference searches, 21,000+ journals, books, conference papers. 1900+
These are further marine and Antarctic databases that offer specialised content:
Collection of international polar databases, with over 1.3 million records from 1800 to present, covering many disciplines relating to cold regions
Covers the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater and estuarine environments and organisms. Also includes marine biology, ecology, fisheries, aquaculture, oceanography and limnology. 1978+
Major Earth Sciences database, includes mining, economic & engineering geology, mineralogy, structural geology, hydrology and all aspects of geosciences. - Coverage from 1933+ (Worldwide); 1699+ (North America). From Nov 2003 onwards GeoRef indexes material from Geoscience Australia.
Register first then login here to search for literature and patents on chemistry, biotechnology, agricultural chemistry, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science, packaging, petroleum products and related subject areas. Includes citation data. Offers capabilities for exploring substructures and reactions. Each user is required to set up their own account.
Contains the world's largest collection of publications for Antarctica and the Southern Ocean. Currently around 43,450 records, listing works 1602-2003. Published by the Scott Polar Research Institute
ATADD contains national and international documents relating to Antarctic law and policy. It is based on documents collected by international lawyer, Bill Bush. Between 1982 and 2003.
