Two core databases for Architecture & Design are Avery and JSTOR. We recommend you use either Avery or JSTOR as a starting point for your research on architecture or design topics.
Comprehensive listing of American and international journal articles on architecture and design, plus publications of professional associations and architects’ obituaries. 1930+ with some coverage from 1860s.
Multi-disciplinary archive of scholarly material in the social sciences, humanities and the sciences. Includes full-text of over 1000 journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, primary sources and images.
In addition to Avery and JSTOR, you may like to search some of the broad science databases, they include architecture and design content.
International, multidisciplinary, abstract and citation database, citation searches, 22,000+ peer-reviewed journals, books, conference papers. 1966+
International, multidisciplinary, citation database, cited reference searches, 21,000+ journals, books, conference papers. 1900+
These are further architecture and design databases that offer specialised content:
Extensive database of advisory notes on managing architectural practice and projects in Australia, from the Australian Institute of Architects.
Index with abstracts. Covers Australian & New Zealand architecture, building, interior design, landscape architecture, 1980-2015
[Archive-no longer updated]
Access to over 800 international full-text art and architecture journals and books. Includes 63,000 images.
Archived abstract index of reports, journal articles, books, theses, conference proceedings and audiovisual resources. Search by Australian State or subject. 1825-2012.
Cumulative Index about publications in Computer Aided Architectural Design supported by the sibling associations ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SIGraDi, ASCAAD and CAAD futures.
Leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals. 1973+
Collaborative, open source, freely accessible, scholarly e-research tool built upon the foundations of the Dictionary of Australian Artists Online. Presents biographical data about Australian artists, designers, craftspeople and curators.
Users need to register for an ABCB account in order to download the NCC.
Australia’s primary set of technical design and construction provisions for buildings, organised into three volumes. As a performance-based code, it sets the minimum required level for the safety, health, amenity, accessibility and sustainability of certain buildings. The Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB), on behalf of the Australian Government and each State and Territory government, produces and maintains the National Construction Code.
Visual archive of over 100,000 digital images from the British Architectural Library. Low resolution images can be downloaded for non-commercial private study or research by registered users. Also includes Architectural style guides, Architectural photographers.
Only 4 concurrent users. Users need to self-register to 'read only', download, print or save. Note: Australian Standards that relate to the Building Code of Australia are also available via the Building Code of Australia Online. A free adobe pdf reader is required. Instructions are listed when attempting to download a standard.
Here is an extensive list of all Architecture & Design resources in our A-Z Databases list: Architecture & Design
