Two core databases for Maritime studies are Scopus and Web of Science. They are broad science databases, and include maritime content. We recommend you either use Scopus or Web of Science as a starting point for your research on maritime topics.
International, multidisciplinary, abstract and citation database, citation searches, 22,000+ peer-reviewed journals, books, conference papers. 1966+
International, multidisciplinary, citation database, cited reference searches, 21,000+ journals, books, conference papers. 1900+
Here are further science databases that offer specialised maritime content.
Covers artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, business and social implications of new technologies. 1,300+ English language journals and magazines, 1,100 full-text peer reviewed journals, 653 journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus.
Database of all American Society of Civil Engineers publications. Note: check the UTAS library catalogue for the availability of full-text of articles
Includes road safety, intelligent transport systems, transport economics, public transport, road and airfield pavements, road design and engineering, traffic engineering and control, vehicle design and safety, and soil and rock mechanics.
Has some coverage of maritime related issues.
Full text scholarly and trade journals in Business, with many accounting and tax journals. Contains Accounting Review, Corporate Governance, Journal of Accounting Research
Index 1980-present, produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia.
Covers Australian engineering information including: agricultural, aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, coastal, computer, earthquake, education, electrical, electronic, geotechnical, management, materials, mechanical, military, ocean, railway, structural, transport, tunnelling and water
Provides indexing and full-text coverage for engineering journals, magazines and trade publications. Engineering-focused monographs, books, conference papers and proceedings are also included. Covers aerospace, biomedical, civil, electrical, environmental, mechanical, software, structural.
Major source for information on all topics related to electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. UTAS subscribes to over 200 IEEE journals and conference proceedings.
Covers literature in offshore engineering, oil and gas exploration and production, including renewable energy. Access to the full-text is unavailable unless you purchase documents online
Over 2.3 million bibliographic citations for energy and energy related science and technology information from the United States Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, dating back to 1943. Includes some full-text
Updated, searchable, maritime regulation database that combines Flag State compliance documentation with IMO, ILO & EU legislation to provide an overall regulatory solution. Makes management of ever-changing safety and pollution regulations simple.
Database relating to transport indexing technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Over 900,000 citations, with many linking to the full-text, 1960+. In the Advanced Search screen, select Marine Transportation from the Subject Category dropdown menu.
