Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Skills for Research

Introductory Guide for Graduate Certificate Research

Module One: Find Information


This module provides guidance and links to enable you to find a range of different kinds of information for your research. Specifically, it covers how to Identify Information Sources and Find Full Text (the complete text of an article).

You will find a quiz at the end of the Module to test your understanding.  

For information on choosing and searching databases, please refer to Module Two: Use Databases.  

 

Identify Information Sources

Use the following table to:

  • Identify relevant library databases
  • Identify and locate books, journals and other items in UTAS libraries
  • Find existing literature reviews of a research topic
  • Find theses
  • Recommend new resources for the Library

Identify relevant subscribed library databases

The Library home page is your starting point.

From the homepage you can search the catalogue for books or search in databases.

To locate relevant articles, we recommend to search within library databases rather than use the library catalogue. 

Click the link to Databases on the Library Homepage.  

Alternatively, we have a list of recommended databases on the subject guide page.

Watch the video below for a demonstration (no sound).

 

Note that there are two basic types of database:

  • Indexing Databases - these large databases index across the main literature in a field, but only provide bibliographic details (author, title, subject headings and sometimes a summary or abstract) rather than the complete text of an item. Citation indexing databases also include references and forward citations for each item.  Indexing databases, especially those with citation data, are essential tools for comprehensive literature reviews.  
  • Full Text Databases - Indexing databases often link items to full text databases, which include the complete text of items that the library has access to.  These items may be printed or downloaded.  The limitation of full text databases is that they only provide complete text for journals, ebooks, and so on for which the Library has subscriptions.  Some databases specialise in review articles.

How do I find a book?

You will find books and ebooks using the University of Tasmania Library catalogue located on the library homepage (no sound). 

Instructions on how to use the library catalogue are below. 

How do I find Newspaper articles?

We have a library Guide on newspapers with links to databases that subscribe to newspapers and newspaper archives. 

 

How do I find literature reviews?

When starting a literature review, you may like to view existing literature reviews to:

  • Understand how a literature review is composed and constructed
  • Understand what is required of you in conducting a literature review
  • Identify key articles for your research. 

A review article may provide a helpful shortcut when starting your literature review. Usually, review articles identify literature in a field or on a topic to a certain date, analyse the value and contribution of each article to the field and specifies key articles.

You can find existing literature reviews and review articles in:

  • Completed theses
  • Annual Reviews (a multi-discipline database that specialises in indexing review articles published any time between 1930 and the present day)
  • Databases

Search Annual Reviews


This video shows you how to search for literature reviews and review articles in Annual Reviews.

Reviews in Web of Science


This video demonstrates how to limit your search results to review articles in a more general database.

How do I find a thesis?

Looking at theses can help you:

  • Understand the formatting, length and referencing requirements for theses in your discipline
  • Understand how a thesis is composed and structured
  • Understand what you are working towards, and
  • Develop an overview of key terms and publications relevant to your research, 

The Theses subject guide contains links to access UTAS theses, theses from other Australian universities and international theses. Many are available through Open Access (OA) repositories. You may be able to use Document Delivery to access a thesis that is not available via OA.

The video below demonstrates searching for UTAS theses in the library catalogue. 

Suggest a purchase 

You can complete the Suggest a purchase form to request that the library purchase a book or other item for your research. You are also welcome to contact the Research Librarians about buying a book or other item. 

The cultural collections held by the University of Tasmania represent a major academic resource for the University, Tasmania and Australia. 

Listen to the ABC Radio Hobart, Breakfast with Ryk Goddard interview with Caine Chennatt, Associate Director, Collections at the University of Tasmania.

 

IMAGES:

  1. Background image of the University of Tasmania's first building, Domain House, Hobart.
  2. Dawson, Alexander, Browne, Thomas and Duke, W 1848 , Hobart High School designed by Alexander Dawson, 1848, Royal Society of Tasmania Collection. [Image] https://eprints.utas.edu.au/11394/
  3. © Royal Society of Tasmania, Image available under University of Tasmania Standard Copyright Licence

The Special & Rare Collections manages and provides access to the cultural and historical records of the University as well as private papers and records from individuals; families; local businesses; community, charitable and cultural organisations; and The Royal Society of Tasmania Collection. It consists of special and rare books and early manuscripts; journals; maps; university records of a non-business nature; and private materials including diaries, letters, photographs, paintings and other collectable ephemera. 

Find Full Text


The table below provides information on finding the complete text of books, articles and other information types. It shows: 

  • How to register for, request and access items via Document Delivery.
  • How to access full-text publications, on campus and off campus
  • How to report access problems

1. Browser extensions can improve access to full-text

Internet browser plug-ins (also known as add-ons or extensions) can help you to find the best available full text pdf of an academic article. It searches UTAS subscriptions and open databases.

LibKey Nomad

https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/

Libkey Nomad provides instant links to full text content for article subscribed to by our library - or open access alternatives - as you do research on the web and come across literature. 

Using Chrome, go to the LibKey Nomad link above or directly to your extensions page to install. Follow the prompts.

After installation, LibKey Nomad prompts you to select your subscribing institution. After that, it simply automatically scans for scholarly content wherever you may roam.

 

EndNote Click - formerly Kopernio

click.endnote.com

EndNote Click, formally known as Kopernio, saves you time by putting PDF Download links onto many search result pages and publisher websites. It helps you save papers to your reference management software or to Dropbox. It works in Chrome, Firefox or Opera web browsers.

You can install using Chrome, for example, by going to the EndNote Click website and select “Add to Chrome for free”.

Whichever browser you use, you have to create an account and indicate that you are a UTAS student.

Once you’ve set it up, you can see the purple EndNote Click icon in your browser.

When you get search results, you see EndNote Click working to find a PDF and then the PDF page/s, if available. You can direct EndNote Click to export references and the saved PDFs to EndNote.

 

Unpaywall

http://unpaywall.org/products/extension

Unpaywall is another browser extension that can try to locate full-text PDF articles to match your search results. It shows an open padlock on the RHS of the window if a PDF is found.

NB the colour of the padlock varies based on the type of access, but as long as it's "unlocked" access to a PDF should be possible.

 

Google Scholar Button

The Google Scholar Button adds a browser button for easy access to Google Scholar from any web page. Click the Scholar button to: Find full text on the web or in the University of Tasmania library. Select the title of the paper on the page you're reading, and click the Scholar button to find it.

 

2. Google Scholar Settings

You can setup Google Scholar with a link to UTAS Library, so it improves your chances of finding fulltext.

Add UTAS Library links to your Google Scholar settings, as follows:

  • Go the Google Scholar menu 

undefined

  • Locate the Settings wheel 

undefined

  • Find the Library Links option 

undefined

  • Type University of Tasmania in the search box and select from results, e.g.

 undefined

What if the item is not in the library? (Document Delivery Service)

Do you need access to material we don't hold in our Library collection, whether print or electronic ? If you have checked the catalogue, databases and journal holdings and the item you want is not available, you can use our Document Delivery Service, which also operates an interlibrary loan service for print items. 

Here is how to find something through Document Delivery.

 

We recommend you access the journal, or the database, through the Library homepage – this prompts you to authenticate as a UTAS student (or staff member) via your UTAS email username and password and lets publishers know you're entitled to this access. 

  1. Go to the Library home page. https://www.utas.edu.au/library
  2. Click on the Catalogue or Databases link under the Library MegaSearch search box

undefined

 

 

Contact Library.Resources@utas.edu.au if you're having trouble accessing a journal or database you've used previously. The Library Resources team may be able to identify and resolve any issues.

Module One Quiz

Tip: If you wish to re-take the quiz, please clear your browsing data beforehand.

Need help?

Need Help?

Book a research consultation today.

or contact a Learning and Research Librarian.

We will respond to you by email or phone to answer your query, or offer an appointment to meet in person or online.