Skip to Main Content

Finding Full-text

Time saving tools for finding full-text as you search or browse

 

Several tools exist that indicate in your search results if you can access the full-text of an internet information source:

Browser extensions

Google Scholar settings

 

 

Make use of browser extensions 

 


Web browser extensions (also known as add-ons or plug-ins) can show whether you have access to the full-text as you browse or search the internet. They search open access repositories and/or our subscriptions, notify you of availability and connect you to the content in one click. They speed up access to the full-text on publisher pages, databases (e.g. Scopus and PubMed) and other sites. 

Four of the most frequently used are listed below:

 

 

 

 

Access full-text UTAS Library resources while searching the internet, using LibKey Nomad. 

 

                    

 

 

         

 

Download LibKey Nomad
Follow directions to install for your browser and select University of Tasmania.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Automatically connects you to
full-text resources in our collections. 

 

 

This browser extension is available for Firefox, Chrome, & Safari web browsers. 

Simply download the extension from the Google Scholar Settings for your browser,
so you can quickly pull up a window of all the full-text available from
your Google Scholar or internet search results.

 

                           

   Add the Google Scholar Button to your
   browser tool bar.

   'Pin it' to make it visible all the time.

 

 

 

 

Click on Google Scholar Button in your browser window to start a search for full-text in Google Scholar. 

 

 

Primarily works with Open Access materials using Chrome & Firefox web browsers.

Once you download & install UnPaywall, the padlock shows you the different level
of access:

  • green & unlocked - full-text accessible
  • grey & locked - full-text unavailable.

 

 

 

 

 

 

What do the other coloured padlocks mean?

 

Download & install EndNote Click to put a PDF download link onto many search results pages or publisher websites, allowing you to save papers directly into your reference management software.

 

EndNote Click works with Chrome, Firefox, or Opera web browsers.


 

 

Regardless of which browser you use, you need to create an account and indicate that you are UTAS staff or student.

 

 

 

Browse or search for papers & export directly into your reference manager.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linking to UTAS Library full-text in Google Scholar

 

Set Google Scholar to link to UTAS Library full-text:

 

Now you will see check full text @ UTAS links to the right of your Scholar search results when Google detects that UTAS may have full-text access.