Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Skills for Research

Introductory Guide for Graduate Certificate Research

Module Four: Publish for impact 


This module covers a range of topics, including:

Publish
  • Choose appropriate journals for submitting papers
  • Identify Open Access (OA) options and deposit publications in OA repositories.
  • Adhere to UTAS Open Access Policy, and funder OA mandates, e.g. NHMRC, ARC. 
Copyright Management
  • Adhere to copyright requirements for your own and others’ work. 

Manage Researcher Identity
  • Manage your name and identity as a researcher, and create an ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID).
Evaluate Research Impact
  • Find and interpret indicators of research impact.
  • Access citation data when available, e.g. in Scopus, Web of Science

Publish

When selecting a journal title to publish in, there may be a number of questions you will need to consider to help identify the one most appropriate to meet your needs:

Is it peer reviewed?

Check the journal itself for this information or alternatively, check Ulrichsweb, where details about each title are available, including whether it is peer reviewed.

Is it relevant?

Does the scope of the journal meet your needs? Is it relevant to your research?  Ulrichsweb can provide you with some of this information, and the journal website itself will give you more detailed information about the aim and scope of the journal. It would also be worthwhile reviewing table of contents of some issues of the journal to identify the types of research it publishes.

Is it a reputable journal?

Excellence in Research Australia (ERA) is Australia’s national research evaluation framework and is administered by the Australian Research Council (ARC). You are able to check for information around journal quality, including ERA ranking, here.

You can also check whether the journal has an impact factor: 

  • Journal Impact Factor available in Web of Science database 
  • CiteScore available in Scopus Database 
  • Journal Ranking in SCImago Journal Ranking
  • InCites: Journal Citatin Reports

More information on Journal Impact with links to the tools listed above can be found here.

Is it discoverable?

A journal is more likely to be discovered if it is indexed by a major journal database. Ulrichsweb can provide this information, or you can also check whether the University of Tasmania Library subscribes to the journal by searching the library catalogue.

Is it open access?

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), a freely accessible database open access journals, is a good starting place to search for open access journal titles in your area of interest. In addition, Sherpa Romeo is a database of publishers' policies on copyright and self-archiving.

 

Tools to find journals

Here are some publisher made tools available to help you locate a journal:

 

The University of Tasmania now has a mandated Open Access Policy, which applies to all research publications. 

Please review our policies prior to publishing, found here.

Open Access (OA) is beneficial because it increases

  • Discovery - everybody can easily find your research online
  • Access -  anybody can read, download, share and reuse in accordance with the assigned copyright licence
  • Reuse -  higher view and citation rates increases the impact of your research

To read background information about Open Access, start with the Open Access Overview or visit the Open Access Australasia website. This fact sheet and subject guide are also helpful in explaining the key parts of OA and the process.

To upload your publication, go to the University of Tasmania Web Access Research Portal (WARP) and select Staff Publication Upload under Quicklinks. This will allow you to upload your publication via your individual profile. 

For more information about how to comply with the University of Tasmania Open Access Policy you can go here, or for help with WARP go here.

Copyright


Copyright of others work

Using material created by someone else is inevitable in research. You will copy or otherwise use a wide range of material protected by copyright, such as journal articles, books, diagrams and figures, maps, artworks, recorded music, television programs and movies. In some instances, you’ll copy third-party material to read or analyse. In others, you’ll want to include copied material in your thesis. Detailed information about copyright for teaching, researching and students is available here.

Making copies for reference and research

Fair dealing exceptions allow works to be used in certain circumstances and within certain limitations without the permission of the copyright owner. Fair dealing for research or study allows reproducing text within certain limits and copying non-textual material (such as artistic works, unpublished material, film and sound recordings) in a ‘fair and reasonable’ way. This 'Research or Study' fact sheet from the Australian Copyright Council outlines the limits and the factors to consider in determining whether your usage is fair. 

Fair dealing does not cover your use of copyright material in:

  • Research papers for publication or making available online
  • Conference presentations
  • Published theses (including in the UTAS Open Access Repository)

In these instances, you will need to check the copyright status of the material you wish to use. Unless it is out of copyright or is freely available under a Creative Commons licence, you will need to obtain - and keep - written permission from the copyright owner to use the work

Including copyright material in your thesis

Where your use involves only an ‘insubstantial portion’ of third-party content, such as a text quotation or snippet of a sound recording, accurate acknowledgement (referencing) is adequate.

Different rules apply when you want to reproduce greater portions of copyrighted material, or reproduce an entire work. This includes any diagrams, pictures or illustrations that are not your own work.

In these instances, you will need to check the copyright status of the third-party work you want to include. You will need to obtain written permission to use the work,  unless it is out of copyright or is freely available under a Creative Commons licence.

Obtaining permission can be a time-consuming process, so start early to prevent any delays to your thesis submission. The UTAS Copyright toolkit for research contains a copyright log to help you keep track of third-party material you are using and what permission you need or have to use that material. This toolkit also has tips and guidelines for managing copyright throughout the research lifecycle and sample letters for seeking permission from copyright owners.

Thesis by publication If your thesis contains material that has been published (for example, a chapter you have had published as a journal article), you may have signed an agreement that affects the rights you retain in your work. You will need to check if these agreements allow you to make your thesis available via open access or if it will need to be embargoed.

Copyright for your own work

You own copyright of your thesis. This gives you rights in your thesis, such as:

  • Reproducing your thesis (photocopying, scanning, copying by hand, filming, recording)
  • Publishing your thesis (in print or electronic format)
  • Communicating your thesis (making it available online or emailing)
  • Adapting your thesis (translating, arranging)

You also hold moral rights over your thesis. 

Any research or publication agreements you have signed may affect what rights you retain in your work. You will need to take this into account before reproducing, publishing, adapting or communicating your thesis, particularly if making your thesis available via open access. 

Help with Copyright

If you need assistance with managing Copyright in your research, please email the Copyright Officer:

utas.copyright@utas.edu.au  

or use the online contact form.

What are Researcher Identifiers?


Your research identity is comprised of many elements, including

  • your name as it appears on publications,
  • your affiliations and collaborations,
  • your formal and less formal publications
  • citations of your publications
  • mentions of your work in mass and social media and more. 

Researcher identifiers are tools that bring all this information together.

Researcher identifiers are persistent digital identifiers that distinguish you as a researcher and connect you to your research activity, You can use researchers identifiers to:

  • differentiate your work for work by other authors with similar names
  • collate your publications, view citation data and measure impact
  • increase the visibility and accessibility of your output
  • improve your publication workflow
  • manage affiliation changes throughout your career
  • improve networking and collaboration

See our Research Identity guide for more information about managing your research identity.

Four common identifiers

Four common identifiers are:

Find more information about each identifier on our Research Identity guide. This guide also has instructions for linking and integrating different identifiers.

This video explains how each is different and how all four can be linked to keep your researcher identity comprehensive and current. A full transcript of this video is below. 

ORCID

Open Researcher & Contributor ID (ORCID) is a persistent digital identifier that connects you with your research. ​

All UTAS researchers are required to register with ORCID and create a profile.

Use this link to register for ORCID: https://orcid.org/

Your ORCID works best when it links to lots of information about you. Populate your profile with:                                   

  • Employment details

  • Keywords for your research

  • Your publications

  • Connections to your other online profiles and researcher identifiers

And promote your ORCID on your email signature, web page or staff profile. 

See our Build & Manage your ORCID guide for instructions and tips about populating your ORCID profile. This blog post also gives some ideas about how to make your ORCID work for you. 

 

Need help?

Need Help?

Book a research consultation today.

or contact a Learning and Research Librarian.

We will respond to you by email or phone to answer your query, or offer an appointment to meet in person or online.