Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Data Management

This guide will assist you to store and manage your research data throughout the research data lifecycle, from planning to publishing!

How do I login to RDP?

Login to https://rdp.utas.edu.au/#/ using your UTAS credentials (username and password)

Why should I store & manage my data in RDP?

RDP will assist you to manage research data throughout your research project, from start to finish.

Use the Setup your Project section of RDP to,

Use the Publish or archive data section of RDP to,

How secure are the RDP storage options?

The RDP storage options are highly secure & mutli-encrypted.  If you have any concerns, contact the University's ITS Service Desk 

You are in control of who and how people access your data from start to finish.

Publishing open data is encouraged because it helps maximize the benefits of research effort. In some cases there are good reasons for the researcher to personally mediate data access or for research data to be kept private.

RDP supports all three cases - open, mediated and archived.(closed).

Can UTAS researchers and HDR Candidates use the Research Data Portal (RDP)?

Yes!

RDP has been designed to reduce the work required to deliver on your obligations to manage and securely store research data. RDP has been custom built for UTAS researchers and HDR candidates. 

IMAS researchers should use the IMAS Data Portal 

Is RDP the default general data storage & management option for UTAS researchers?

We designed RDP to be a good general purpose service for publishing research data but there may be good reasons to use a specialist data publishing platform. For example: IMAS researchers should use the IMAS Data Portal

We suggest you select the publishing platform that maximises the chances of someone finding your research (‘discoverability’). At times this will be a discipline specific repository, or one linked to a journal title. Contact Research.Librarians@utas.edu.au to find out more about external data storage options.

Can HDR Candidates & UTAS researchers create an online Data Management Plan (DMP) in RDP?

Yes, all UTAS HDR Candidates and researchers can quickly and easily create a DMP in RDP.  Use the Export option to share the DMP with your colleagues, to attach to your Ethics or Funding applications.  You can also print the DMP.

How do I create a Data Management Plan in RDP?

  1. Login to the Research Data Portal https://rdp.utas.edu.au/#/ using your UTAS credentials (username and password)
  2. Choose Setup your project
  3. Choose Create Data Management Plan
  4. Follow the prompts to complete your Data Management Plan 
  5. Choose Export to print your Data Management Plan
  6. Choose Edit to amend/ add to the plan as your research project progresses
Need help? 

Email Research.Data@utas.edu.au

Do I need an ORCID to use RDP?

Yes.

You will need to enter your own, and collaborators ORCID Identities in the  "People" fields  in RDP. 

Need help? 

Contact your Research.Librarian@utas.edu.au

How do I store my datasets in the Publish or archive section of RDP?

  1. Login to the Research Data Portal https://rdp.utas.edu.au/#/ using your UTAS credentials (username and password)
  2. Choose Publish or archive data
  3. Choose Create Dataset
  4. Follow Dataset Metadata prompts to describe your dataset and choose from the publishing/ archive options 
  5. Follow the Browse Files and Upload Datasets to upload a data file
  6. Follow the prompts to add Related Information (publications, funding, supplementary files (i.e. methodology) or link to online resources.
  7. Manage versions of the dataset using Clone Record and Edit to apply file naming conventions to manage file versions you upload
  8. To Archive or Publish the dataset
  • Sensitive datasets 
    • Choose Archive to securely store and retain the dataset
  • Mediated or open access datasets
    • Choose Publish the dataset to automatically mint a DOI and make either the: metadata record only, or the metadata and dataset file openly accessible. 
Need help? 

Email Research.Data@utas.edu.au

Does RDP support open, mediated and closed access to my data?

RDP supports all three sharing options depending on the type of data you are storing.

Open - An ‘open’ dataset can be found and downloaded by anyone.

Meidated - A ‘ mediated’ dataset can be found by anyone but they must request a copy.

Closed/ Archived - A ‘ closed’ dataset is  securely stored but no one can find or download it.

Do I still need to go through the IT Services (ITS) to setup a place to store my research data?

For most researchers, you’ll be able to setup a best-of-breed storage solution in minutes without assistance from ITS. If you require more specialized support you can request this support from within RDP.

Is data published in RDP F.A.I.R?

Yes. Making research data FAIR provides a range of benefits to researchers, research communities, research infrastructure facilities and research organisations alike. FAIR means:

  • Findable – Metadata records are used to describe data and when published these are discoverable through popular data portals like Research Data Australia and Google Dataset Search.
  • Accessible – Published datasets are accessible either through direct download (‘open’ data) or an email request (‘mediated’ data).
  • Interoperable – RDP offers a variety of community agreed file formats and vocabularies to encourage easy access and reuse eg ORCID identifiers and Field of Research Codes.
  • Reusable – Users can use a Creative Commons licence to manage how their data can be used and can link their data to supplementary material to support provenance (where a piece of data comes from and the processes and methodology by which it was produced).

What do you mean by publishing and archiving?

If you have a version of a dataset that you would like to store in perpetuity eg because you have finished the research or would like to make a back up, you can choose to either:

  • publish the data publicly (open access) or via mediation
  • archive the data securely for either, a specific retention period, or in perpetuity. Only you and your collaborators can access it.

How do I increase the discoverability of my published datasets?

The most important step is to make sure you write a detailed data description (metadata record). Potential users are unlikely to use your data if they are unsure about your methods and the quality of the data.

Can I link publications, funding and other related material to the dataset in RDP?

Yes! 

In the Related Information section of the RDP Dataset metadata record you can add related outputs including: Publications, Funding, Supplementary Files (i.e. methodology) or Online Resources.   

Opps, I published a dataset by mistake. Can I retract it?

You cannot retract a published or archived dataset.
If you need to update a published or archived record just publish a new version by cloning the original.
Published in error? Contact the ITS Service Desk ASAP!