Subject Guides: Research Support : Getting Published

Getting Published

Academic writing and publishing : a practical guide by James Hartley 2008
Publishing pedagogies for the doctorate and beyond by edited by Claire Aitchison, Barbara Kamler, and Alison Lee 2010
The Thesis and the book : a guide for first time academic authors by edited by Eleanor Harman ... [et al.] 2003
Writing for academic journals by Rowena Murray 2005
Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success by Wendy Laura Belcher

Choosing Journals for your Papers

Many factors deserve consideration when developing your publishing strategy, including:

When searching for literature on your research area, which journals publish relevant content? These may guide you to appropriate targets for your own publications.
Do the aims and scope of shortlisted journals confirm your paper will be a good fit?
Does the acceptance process include peer review?
Should you prioritise journals with an international editorial board?
Is there a suitable Open Access publishing option?
- Does the journal policy enable you to make a version of your paper openly accessible through the institutional Open Access Repository (OAR), to broaden its discoverability and readership?
- Is the journal included in a Read and Publish agreement, saving you article processing charges?
Can you find a journal Impact Factor (IF) or SciMago Journal Rank (SJR) measure? Is the journal on a list of recommended journals in your discipline? What do these measures indicate? - see http://utas.libguides.com/research_impact/journal_impact
consult with your supervisor, esteemed peers or senior researchers

Think, Check, Submit
With so many publications and publishers, how can you be sure you can trust a particular journal? Follow this check list to make sure you choose trusted journals for your research.
Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)
Jane (Journal/Author Name Estimator) is a freely available web-based application that, on the basis of a sample text (e.g. the title and abstract of a manuscript), can suggest journals and experts who have published similar articles in medical fields. JANE provides help in determining which journal is most appropriate for publishing authors' results, and which other scientists can be called upon to review their work. All journals included in Medline are included in Jane, as well as All authors that have published one or more articles in the last 10 years that have been included in Medline.
Ulrich's Global Serials Directory
An source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials and journals) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. It's a good source for confirming if a journal is peer-reviewed and also to see where it's indexed, as you want to be sure your published paper will be found and read!
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent.

Identifying Predatory or Pseudo-journals

World Association of Medical Editors (WAME) developed a framework for investigating the legitimacy of a journal. They developed a flow-chart which assesses

Beall's criteria for identification of predatory journals,
presence in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), and
presence of Think. Check. Submit. features.

It recommends further investigation guided by these initial indicators.

The full article listing all criteria and warning signs can be found here:

Laine, C & Winker, MA 2017, 'Identifying predatory or pseudo-journals', Biochemia medica: Biochemia medica, vol. 27, no. 2, pp. 285-291.

Avoiding Predatory Publishers

Thesis with Publications

Surviving and thriving in postgraduate research
Chapter 25: Should I publish as I go?
Robins, L. & Kanowski, P. 2008, "PhD by publication: A student's perspective" by Journal of Research Practice, vol. 4, no. 2, pp. 1-20.

Expert Advice...

Powell, K 2010, 'Publications: Publish like a pro', Nature, vol. 467, no. 7317, pp. 873-875, DOI 10.1038/nj7317-873a

Prolific authors and journal editors share how to get manuscripts noticed, approved and put in print.

Identifying publishing outlets that follow best practice
Andy Pleffer provides advice on deciding where to publish, based on Macquarie University’s approach - 23 June, 2016

Book Publishers

Publishers Global - List of Academic Publishers in Australia

DOIs for Grey Literature

A Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is a unique, persistent identifier that can be used to track data citation metrics and to link related outputs such as journal articles, research data, software and grey literature. As such, it assists to expand your research impact.

The Library provides a DOI service for research datasets and grey literature that are made available via an open access repository.

For the purposes of assigning a DOI to grey literature, publication types include theses, reports, unpublished conference papers, newsletters, creative works, preprint journal articles, technical standards and specifications for which the institutional Open Access Repository (OAR) is the primary publication point.

In order for your research output to be eligible for a DOI, it must satisfy these criteria:

**DOI Criteria**
Affiliated	Intellectual property (IP) owned by University of Tasmania or an affiliated researcher
Accessible	Either open, mediated or embargoed (with specified end-date)
Discoverable	Metadata compliant with DataCite Metadata Scheme v4.0 Metadata for grey literature is deposited in the institutional Open Access Repository (OAR), Open Access Repository.
Persistent	Grey literature is managed and stored for the long-term, in a University system (as above, Open Access Repository)
Immutable	Data/grey literature output will remain unchanged
Unique	Unique research output Output has not been assigned a DOI previously No copyright will be infringed
Citable	Contributes to the scholarly record and, in the case of datasets, is analogous to a journal article

Also consider how this output fits into your overall publishing strategy. If you intend to submit a paper with any of this content to a reputable journal publisher in future, you need to be careful to avoid jeopardising your chance of having it accepted by putting it in an open access repository too soon. For more information, and expert advice, please contact Learning and Research Librarians.

To request for a DOI, please contact the oa.repository@utas.edu.au

University of Tasmania, Australia

Research Support : Getting Published