Subject Guides: Research Support : OA Directories

Australian Research in OARs

Trove from the National Library of Australia This link opens in a new window
Brings together resources from Libraries Australia, Music Australia and other collecting institutions. Includes content from OA repositories, sheet music, sound recordings, interviews, images, newspaper articles and books.

Research Data Australia (RDA)

OA Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Australasian Open Access Journals
A guide to Australian and New Zealand OA journals.

Think Check Submit

Think Check Submit provides a checklist to help you ensure you choose trusted journals for your research:

Think Check Submit is a cross-industry initiative led by representatives from ALPSP, DOAJ, INASP,
ISSN, LIBER, OASPA, STM, UKSG, and individual publishers.

Directories of OA Repositories

OpenDOAR
An authoritative, international directory of academic open access repositories.
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
Promotes open access to the research literature, pre- and post-peer-review, through author self-archiving in institutional eprint archives.
Registry has two functions: (1) to monitor overall growth in the number of eprint archives and (2) to maintain a list of GNU Open Access Repository sites (the software Southampton University has designed to facilitate self-archiving).
Subject-related repositories
See the Library Guide for your discipline to identify relevant subject repositories e.g. arXiv, for physics, mathematics and computer science

Indexes of OA Scholarly Works

All repositories have their own search engine, usually offering a variety of access points including author and keyword. Additionally, the content of many are indexed by multi-discipline databases e.g.

Google
Indexes the institutional Open Access Repository (Open Access Repository) and many other reputable OA repositories.
Google Scholar
Index and extensive fulltext access to multi-discipline, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers & professional societies.
OAIster
Currently provides access to more than 50 million records from over 2000 contributors. Digital resources include items such as digitised (i.e., scanned) books and articles, born-digital texts, theses, audio files, images, movies and data-sets.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
International, multidisciplinary, abstract and citation database, citation searches, 22,000+ peer-reviewed journals, books, conference papers. 1966+

University of Tasmania, Australia

Research Support : OA Directories

Australian Research in OARs

OA Journals

Think Check Submit

Directories of OA Repositories

Indexes of OA Scholarly Works