Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Types of Databases
Indexing and Abstracting Databases
provide bibliographic details only ie. author, title, subject headings or sometmes an abstract (summary) of the item too.
provide bibliographic information, usually an abstract and the full text of the item which may be printed or downloaded.
provide citation data, bibliographic details, and sometimes an abstract (summary) or full text of the item.
provide review articles on specific topics and often for a specific timeframe. Annual Reviews is dedicated to providing review articles but other databases often include review articles too.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities. It indexes 20,000 peer-reviewed journals (including 2,600 open access journals), 390 trade publications, 370 book series, 5.5 million conference papers and is updated daily. Cited references in Scopus go back to 1996. Scopus enables tracking and analysis of citation data on publications.
Citation Indexes are a key research tool, providing access to
multidisciplinary literature from high impact research journals. They
allow you to use an existing reference to:
- navigate backward in time using Cited References to find the research that underpinned an author's work
- navigate forward in time using Times Cited to discover the impact of research
- find related papers
- analyse search results
- personalise preferences and settings
- set up search alerts and citation alerts
- create custom journal lists
Cited Reference searching is a fast and efficient way of finding
information relating specifically to your research.
Start your citation searching with:
Web of Science
Citation database where you can search the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes: Web of Science Core Collection (1945-present), plus Medline (1950-present), Current Contents Connect (1998-present) and more.
Navigate with cited reference searching and Author Finder
Create a visual representation of citation relationships with Citation Mapping
Capture citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report
Use the Analyze Tool to identify trends and patterns
Web of Knowledge
Includes Web of Science as well as the following databases, critical to research:
* Current Contents Connect
* Journal Citation Reports
A search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
View the Library Guides to identify relevant databases in your research area
Select a specific database from the A-Z list
Contact a Librarian for further guidance on accessing or using research databases
Attend a workshop on using research databases