Skip to Main Content

Law

Use this guide to access databases and websites important for legal research and guidance on locating law reports and unreported judgments, Acts of Parliament and delegated legislation, and secondary legal sources.

Recommended Legal Research Guides (Other Universities)

Some excellent resources created by law libraries around Australia.

University of Woolongong, Australia Search term connectors for legal databases
Queensland University of Technology, Australia Case Law research (Australia)
University of Melbourne, Australia

Human Rights Law Research

University of Queensland, Australia Legal Research Essentials
Monash University, Australia

Law research and writing skills

Other Guides

AustLII Help   
Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents  This guide provides information on the AEF&P.
CaseBase  This guide provides information on CaseBase.
CCH IntelliConnect Quick Tips Card   
Federal Register of Legislation User Guides Menu   
Halsbury's Laws of Australia  This guide provides information on Halsbury's Laws of Australia.
HeinOnline Training Guides   
ICLR.3   
Lawlex Online Help   
LawOne Searching : Quick Start Guide   
LexisNexis AU : Explore by Topic  This guide provides information on Explore by Topic.
LexisNexis AU Quick Start Guide  This guide provides useful information pertaining to constructing a search including the connectors available, finding cases, commentary, legislation, forms and precedents as well as working with your results.
LexisNexis Knowledge Network Learning Resource Centre   
LexisNexis Unreported Judgments Guide  This guide provides information on Unreported Judgments.
Tasmanian Legislation Help   
Thomson Reuters Westlaw Training Guides   
Westlaw AU Quick Guide