Skip to Main Content

Law

Use this guide to access databases and websites important for legal research and guidance on locating law reports and unreported judgments, Acts of Parliament and delegated legislation, and secondary legal sources.

Welcome to the Law library

The University of Tasmania library has a large range of information resources both in print and online.

This library guide will help you to find the most relevant online resources for your studies. 

You can access our legal resources online via our library catalogue (for ebooks and ejournals) and databases (for legislation, caselaw and secondary sources).

Below you will find links to the catalogue and to our Australian legal databases.


Catalogue




Or Search the Classic Catalogue

Australian Databases

The University of Tasmania Library provides access to a comprehensive range of legal databases.

The following is a general list of Australian law databases. You will also find links to relevant databases in the Cases, Journal Articles, Legislation and International Law materials tabs to the left.

AGIS (Attorney-General's Information Service)

INDEX: AGIS indexes law journals from the Australian, New Zealand and Asia Pacific region from 1975 onwards. Law journals from other countries including the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom are selectively indexed for Australian content and interest.

See also: AGIS-ATSIS (Attorney-General's Information Service-Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset) 

AustLII A free database of Australasian primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals) and secondary legal materials such as law reform reports and law journals.
CCH  An Australian legal database of subject commentaries, cases, legislation and journals.
Federal Register of Legislation The authorised website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents. It contains the full text and details of the lifecycle of individual laws and the relationships between them.
Lexis Advance An extensive collection of Australian legal databases including CaseBase (a case citator), Halsbury's laws of Australia (an encyclopaedia), case law, legislation, journals and subject commentaries.
Tasmanian Legislation The Tasmanian Legislation website provides free public access to Tasmanian legislation. Acts that were in force as at 1 February 1997 are available in consolidated form and Acts passed after 1 February 1997 are available as made and in consolidated form.
Westlaw AU An extensive collection of Australian legal databases including FirstPoint (a case citator), The Laws of Australia (an encylopaedia), case law, journals and commentaries.

 

Australian Databases (Specific areas of law)

CINCH (Australian Criminology Database) Covers all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime and is produced by the JV Barry Library, Australian Institute of Criminology. See also: CINCH-ATSIS( Australian Criminology Database: Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Subset)
Checkpoint  Australian tax and accounting database from Thomson Reuters.
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 (New) With 2.1 million pages of trial transcripts, police and forensic reports, detective novels, newspaper accounts, true crime literature, and related ephemera, Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790–1920 presents a broad and deep collection of materials supporting the study of nineteenth-century criminal history, law, literature, and justice. This resource enhances understanding of the intersection of law and society during a pivotal era of social change.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains records selected from the most important journals and magazines related to criminal justice and criminology. 
Family & Society Collection (Informit)  Covers family, marriage, women; culture and institutions, private, civil and family law; social services and public welfare. Content includes peer-reviewed journals from government and specialist associations tackling modern debates on topics including non-traditional families, parenting, marriage, divorce, division of labour, working mothers, birth rates and ageing. See also: FAMILY ASTIS (Australian Family and Society Abstracts - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset)

 


If you wish to come to the law library in person and access our print resources please refer to our opening hours.