Skip to Main Content

Law

Use this guide to access databases and websites important for legal research and guidance on locating law reports and unreported judgments, Acts of Parliament and delegated legislation, and secondary legal sources.

International Databases

Cambridge Books Online : Law Collection Books and journals in public and private law subjects aimed at a global readership. Topics include international law, human rights and transitional justice, transnational and comparative law, jurisprudence, and legal history. 
HeinOnline  American scholarly law journals, with some content from selected Commonwealth countries. See also: Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (for materials on public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of non-US jurisdictions).
ICLR.3 Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England & Wales.
i-Law Maritime & Commercial  A comprehensive online legal research tool focused on Maritime and Commercial issues from UK. UTAS Staff and students will be required to log in with an email address to access full text.
Justis Publishing Irish Reports and Digests 1838 - present
Justis Irish Cases 1998 - present
International Law Reports
Singapore Law Reports
JustisOne Provides access to hundreds of thousands of case judgments and legislation from common law jurisdictions around the world.
Lexis Advance (Formerly LexisNexis International) Lexis Advance contains a comprehensive collection of full text legal resources including both primary and secondary material from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia and other jurisdictions.
Oxford Reports on International Law Full text decisions of international courts and international law decisions in domestic courts from 1904.
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law (Trial)

Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law (OSAIL) contains over 180 full-text online editions of market-leading reference works and treatises published by Oxford University Press, including Oppenheim, and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law.

Trial ends: 31 December 2020

Oxford Scholarship Online: Law Collection  Spanning twenty subjects and updated every month, Oxford Scholarship Online is a vast online library, home to thousands of scholarly works from the world-renowned academic publishing list of Oxford University Press.
Oxford Constitutions of the World (Trial)

Contains fully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), accompanied by individual jurisdictional commentaries, and supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical versions of constitutions, and amendment Acts/Laws.Trial ends: 31 December 2020 

US Constitutional Law (Trial)

US Constitutional Law (USC) provides a comprehensive research resource on the law, politics, and history of constitutionalism in the United States at the federal and state levels. Combining extensive primary materials with expert commentary, the service provides researchers with unparalleled access to the historical development of federal and state constitutionalism.

Trial ends: 31st December 2020

Thomson Reuters Westlaw U.S. and foreign primary and secondary legal materials.
United Nations Official Document System Parliamentary documents and official reports of the United Nations.
United Nations Treaty Collections Online Includes UN Treaty Series 1946+League of Nations Treaty Series and Status of Multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General series.
Westlaw UK  Source of case law, legislation, news, legal journals, commentary, current awareness alerts and EU legal materials.
WestlawNext Canada  Canadian primary law, plus commentary and value-added tools, including decisions from Carswell Law report Series, Canada Law Book Report Series and decisions from the Supreme Court of Canada and Privy Council, annotated legislation and concordances of legislation, KeyCite Canada, Canadian Encyclopedic Digest, The Canadian Abridgment, Tribunal decision coverage, Index to Canadian Legal Literature with links to full text and more.
WorldLII (International Courts and Tribunals Collection) Includes full text decisions from 38 courts and tribunals.
WorldTradeLaw.net  A summary and analysis of all WTO reports and arbitrations; a current keyword index; a database of dispute settlement tables and statistics; and a user-friendly search tool for WTO cases, legal texts, and other documents.
For information on how to search for legal journal articles please see our Legal skills : International law research guide.