Skip to Main Content

Law

Use this guide to access databases and websites important for legal research and guidance on locating law reports and unreported judgments, Acts of Parliament and delegated legislation, and secondary legal sources.

Case Law Databases

Use the following resources to find information for Australian and overseas case law.

AustLII Free internet access to Australasian legal materials.
BestCase Library [WestlawNext Canada]
CCH IntelliConnect Provides online access to selected CCH titles subscribed to by UTAS Law Library, including caselaw and looseleaf services.
Checkpoint Australian tax and accounting database from Thomson Reuters.
HeinOnline English Reports and US Reports
ICLR.3 Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England & Wales.
JustisOne Irish Reports and Digests 1838 - present
Justis Irish Cases 1998 - present
International Law Reports
Singapore Law Reports
Lexis Advance Pacific Please go to Lexis Advance Pacific after 20 November 2017.
Lexis Advance Lexis Advance (Formerly LexisNexis International) contains a comprehensive collection of full text legal resources including both primary and secondary material from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia and other jurisdictions.
Oxford Reports on International Law Full text decisions of international courts and international law decisions in domestic courts from 1904.
Thomson Reuters Westlaw U.S. and foreign primary and secondary legal materials.
Westlaw AU Australian case law, commentaries and journals.
Westlaw UK
WorldTradeLaw.net A summary and analysis of all WTO reports and arbitrations; a current keyword index; a database of dispute settlement tables and statistics; and a user-friendly search tool for WTO cases, legal texts, and other documents.

Citators

You can find authoritative cases on a subject by searching case annotators and digests in print and online. You can also search full text case law databases using subject keywords or catchwords.

Provides access to hundreds of thousands of case judgments and legislation from common law jurisdictions around the world.

Unreported Judgments 

Unreported judgments may be too recent to have been published in a law report or not important enough to be published.

Unreported judgments can often be found in law databases or directly from the court's website. In some cases, the judgment is available only to the parties involved.

BarNet JADE Free access to decisions of Australian and International Courts and Tribunals and Australian legislation.
AustLII

Free internet access to Australasian legal materials. Tasmania   Victoria, and other Supreme courts publish their decisions in AustLII.

New South Wales Caselaw NSW Caselaw contains decisions for NSW Courts and Tribunals administered by the NSW Department of Justice. 
Queensland Judgments A complete set of unreported Supreme Court judgments from 2002. The contents of the website will be expanded, over time, as they progressively digitise and publish the Queensland Supreme Court Library’s print collection of unreported judgments (1972-2001).
Western Australia eCourts Portal
Law and Justice Foundation Decisions from all Australian jurisdictions
LexisNexis AU : Unreported Judgments
Westlaw AU : Unreported Judgments
Reported cases are more authoritative than unreported cases.

Finding historical court decisions

Early Australian court decisions were often reported in newspapers and early court reports. Our news sources guide may help you find particular historical court decisions.

Not all judgments are published, even if they are mentioned in the news. This may be because the case hasn't set a precedent, was viewed as having little significance, or is of a sensitive nature.

Colonial Case Law is a site created at Macquarie University dedicated to publishing hidden nineteenth century records of the superior courts of Tasmania, 1834 onwards and New South Wales, 1788-1899.

Australian Legal History Libraries, include:

Many subscription legal databases contain historical cases. See Australian case law databases and unreported cases.

Legal Abbreviations

The following guides will assist in deciphering legal abbreviations for law reports, courts and journal titles.

For information on case law research please see our Legal Skills : Research Guide