Two core databases for Social Sciences are Scopus and Web of Science. They are broad science databases, and include social sciences content. We recommend you either use Scopus or Web of Science as a starting point for your research on social sciences topics.
International, multidisciplinary, abstract and citation database, citation searches, 22,000+ peer-reviewed journals, books, conference papers. 1966+
International, multidisciplinary, citation database, cited reference searches, 21,000+ journals, books, conference papers. 1900+
In addition to Scopus and Web of Science, you may like to search some of the other arts databases listed under Multidisciplinary resources. Many of them include content on politics and international relations, social work, sociology and criminology, and policing and emergency management.
These are further databases that offer specialised content for the different disciplines within social sciences:
These are further social sciences databases that offer specialised content, including politics and international relations, social work, sociology and criminology, and policing and emergency management:
Extensive global coverage of political topics. Provides full-text journals, reference books and conference papers, including those from the International Political Science Association. Subjects include: comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, political theory.
Indexing and full text database that provides access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities, including some coverage of issues relating to Asia.
All aspects of economics. Articles, books, proceedings, working papers.
Multi-disciplinary archive of scholarly material in the social sciences, humanities and the sciences. It includes the full text archival backfile of over 1,000 journals, monographs, newspapers and selected conference proceedings. Collection of digital images.
Contains more than 2,500 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals.
Indexes international literature of sociology and related disciplines in social and behavioral sciences.
Index of international scholarly literature in social work and human services.
Suite of databases containing references to Australian publications in a variety of disciplines. Includes Families & Society Collection and FAMILY-ATSIS.
Includes material on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
ProQuest database, indexes international literature of sociology and related disciplines in social and behavioral sciences.
Covers all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime. Produced by the JV Barry Library, Australian Institute of Criminology. 1968+
Full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. Unique content.
Leading platform to keep up with the latest in progressive policing. Global police and criminal justice community consume and share knowledge, opinion and analysis. Consists of government, policing, third sector, academia and industry.
Covers all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime and is produced by the JV Barry Library, Australian Institute of Criminology.
1968 +
Covers policing, criminology, law enforcement, law, management, occupational health and safety, and social sciences and is produced by the Australian Federal Police Library, Canberra.
1991 +
