The core database for Humanities is Humanities Source Ultimate. We recommend you use Humanities Source Ultimate as a starting point for your research on humanities topics.
Offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. Includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes.
In addition to Humanities Source Ultimate, you may like to search some of the other arts databases listed under Multidisciplinary resources. Many of them include content on English, global cultures and languages, history and classics, philosophy and gender studies.
These are further databases that offer specialised content for the different disciplines within humanities:
Scholarly source of authoritative biographical, bibliographic, critical, and production information about Australian writers and writing. Documents publishers, newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals. Material dates largely from arrival of European print culture in Australia (c.1788) to present. Some pre-1788 works and references to the pre-colonial and continuing storytelling cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians included.
Presents full-text literary criticism on writers and illustrators for children and young adults. Critical essays are selected from leading sources, including published journals, magazines, books, monographs, reviews, and scholarly papers.
Brings together all Gale literature related content in a single interface. Get full text literary criticism, author biographies, plot summaries & work overviews, articles, essays, eBooks, book reviews, classic texts and more.
Includes Shakespeare Collection.
Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. 1920+
Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Includes full-text. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. 1920+
Covers all fields of philosophy and related disciplines. Publications from 139 countries and in 37 languages. More than 500,000 records, including indexed articles from over 1500 journals.1940+
Comprises billions of records including census data, immigration records, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps. Extensive online collection of individuals from North America, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more.
Please note: access to Ancestry Library is only available to staff and currently enrolled students.
Covers history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on 15th century to present.
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in period 400-1500.
Tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals
Index to the world's literature covering lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. It contains indexing and abstracts for hundreds of LGBT-specific periodicals, books and reference works.
Covers all fields of philosophy and related disciplines. Publications from 139 countries and in 37 languages. More than 500,000 records, including indexed articles from over 1500 journals.1940+
Comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Largest open access archive in philosophy. Index currently contains 2,281,686 entries categorised in 5,266 categories. Over 190,000 registered users.
