The core database for CAM is JSTOR. We recommend you use JSTOR as a starting point for your research on creative arts and media topics.
Multi-disciplinary archive of scholarly material in the social sciences, humanities and the sciences. It includes the full text archival backfile of over 1,000 journals, monographs, newspapers and selected conference proceedings. Collection of digital images.
In addition to JSTOR, you may like to search some of the other arts databases listed under Multidisciplinary resources. Many of them include content on creative arts and health, fine arts and design, media and communication, music, and theatre and performance.
These are further databases that offer specialised content for the different disciplines within CAM:
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books; from 1966 and selected back to 1809.
Nursing and allied health journals, includes full-text. 1937+
Full-text database of 500+ journals, providing extensive coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. Provides particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Contains millions of records and an education-specific thesaurus. Sponsored by Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. 1966+
Collaborative, open source, freely accessible, scholarly e-research tool built upon the foundations of the Dictionary of Australian Artists Online. Presents biographical data about Australian artists, designers, craftspeople and curators.
Includes: The Dictionary of Art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals. 1973+
Access to over 700 international full-text art and architecture journals and magazines. Includes 63,000 images
Indexing and abstracting for nearly 1,000 core titles dating back to 1915. Subjects covered: mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology.
Provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
We also have a guide dedicated to newspaper sources:
Wide range of musical genres including complete catalogues or selected recordings from over 800 labels. Includes music notes, cover art, instrumentation, tracklist, publisher information, libretti and synopses of operas, plus more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies.
Online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Contains public domain music.
The International Index to Music Periodicals is a music journal resource with more than 720,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to the present, covering the scholarly to the popular.
Produced by the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale - articles from more than 5200 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, dissertations etc.
Digital streaming video collection of performances of essential theatrical texts. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts.
Comprehensive, cross-searchable coverage of Shakespeare's work, critical reception, textual history, performance history and cultural and historical context.
Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. 1920+
