The disciplines within the School of Health Science vary greatly, so it is hard to suggest a core database. If your research topic has a medical angle, we recommend you use Medline as a starting point. You can search it via PubMed or Ovid.
Produced by National Library of Medicine, covers international literature on biomedicine and health, 5,600+ journals
In addition to Medline, you may like to search some of the other health databases listed under Multidisciplinary resources. Many of them include content on physiotherapy, exercise and sport, speech pathology, nutrition, laboratory medicine and rural health.
Here are further health science databases that offer specialised content, including physiotherapy, exercise and sport science, nutrition science and health management:
Produced by National Sport Information Centre, Australian Sports Commission. Includes all aspects of Australian sport including administration, children, coaching, disabled, economics, facilities, history, medicine, nutrition, physiology, psychology, women and Olympic Games (Sydney 2000). 1989-2021
EBP database ⓘ
Physiotherapy Evidence Database, free database, 35,000+ randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy
Research tool for all areas of sports and sports medicine literature, 350+ journals, includes full-text, 1985+
Details all aspects of healthcare administration and other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management: computer technology, facilities management, hospital administration, hospital management, HR, insurance, marketing. 250+ journals.
Comprehensive database covering all aspects of health policy and related issues, supports decision-making, planning and research in a variety of healthcare system areas. 330+ journal, includes full-text.
Part of this organisation is The Australian Health Policy Institute which was established by the College of Health Sciences at the University of Sydney in 1999. Non-partisan analysis of major health policy questions which confront Australian and international health systems.
Consumer health information, includes full-text to consumer health magazines, reference books and current health pamphlets. Covers fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
EBP database ⓘ
Clinical Online Network of Evidence for Care and Therapeutics, access to evidence-based resources to inform clinical decision-making
