Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Systematic Reviews
Before starting a systematic review, you may like to confirm that no systematic review has already been published or registered on your topic.
You can generally find published systematic reviews by searching common bibliographic databases. However, there are some resources with a focus on systematic reviews.
Looking at a systematic review that was published on a similar topic can be a good starting point to identify studies in your area.
Databases for Systematic Reviews
Campbell Systematic Reviews
Campbell Systematic Reviews is an open access journal prepared under the editorial control of the Campbell Collaboration. The journal publishes systematic reviews, evidence and gap maps, and methods research papers.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
JBI EBP Database via Ovid This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based database, wide range of summarised and appraised evidence covering medical, nursing and health science specialties
PubMed - Clinical Queries
The Clinical Queries page is designed to filter a PubMed by three clinical research areas, Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews and Medical Genetics.
TRIP This link opens in a new window
Turning Research into Practice, EBP database including reviews, trials, guidelines and patient information
Registers of Systematic Reviews
PROSPERO includes protocol details for systematic reviews relevant to health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome.
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
CRD is a research department at the University of York that specialises in evidence synthesis, assembling and analysing data from multiple research studies to generate policy relevant research.
Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence, including systematic reviews.
PDQ-Evidence facilitates rapid access to the best available evidence for decisions about health systems. It includes systematic reviews, broad syntheses of reviews, primary studies included in systematic reviews and structured summaries of that evidence.