Welcome

This guide will introduce you to some of the important tools for finding scholarly information in the UTAS Library.

1. Reading Lists index

2. Library catalogue

3. Library MegaSearch

4. Google Scholar

5. Library databases

Required reading

The Library's Reading Lists index provides direct access to required/suggested readings for your units*

• From www.utas.edu.au/library
• Click the Reading Lists link
• Search for your unit

Try it:

- Use Reading Lists to find CXA631 Haematology 1

- Access Hoffbrand's Essential Haematology  (eBook)

- Find the chapter on acute myeloid leukemia
 

* Some units may not have a reading list. If you do not see a list for your unit here at the start of semester, please contact your Unit Coordinator.

Books & eBooks

The Library Catalogue is the easiest and fastest way to find a book or ebook in the Library

Try it:

- From the Library Catalogue

- Search for haematology
      How many results did you get?

- Now try the alternate spelling hematology
      Are your results different?

- To search for both spellings use hematology OR haematology

Note: it is good practice to use capital letters when using AND and OR to link search words.

For more on finding and using books see the Getting Started in the Library guide

Journals & databases

The library databases are the tools you need to find scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles.

Subject specific databases are listed under the Databases link, but you can find all of the best Health Science databases in the Library Guide for Health & Medicine

MegaSearch is a tool for doing an all-in-one search across the entire library collection - books and journal articles. 
It is not recommended for higher level research, conducting literature reviews, etc.

Google Scholar is Google's tool for broadly searching scholarly articles, books, theses, abstracts, patents and court opinions.  Results come from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Try it:

Try searching for acute myeloid leukemia in the search tools below.  

Explore the different options to refine your search in each tool, i.e.
 - Advanced search
 - Limit by publication date, article type, etc.
 - Search for words in title, author, abstract, subject headings

MegaSearch

Google Scholar

PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books; from 1966 and selected back to 1809.

Scopus
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, mathematics, social science and arts and humanities. You can run citation searches by document, author, affiliation or keywords then register to save searches and set up citation alerts.
 

For more on searching databases for scholarly journal articles see the Getting Started in the Library guide

More to explore