Research literature comes in many formats, such as serial or journal articles, magazines, newspapers, technical reports, exhibition catalogues and conference papers. Research databases index this literature published in various disciplines. Individual documents such as journal articles and conference papers generally do not get listed in library catalogues.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals and Art Bibliographies, Modern are two examples of research databases.
The UTAS Library does not always own the the journals and other documents that may be indexed in these databases.
ProQuest - The Arts allows you to search across the architecture, design and arts databases that are supplied by ProQuest. It searches across 10 major research databases.
ProQuest - The Arts allows you to search across the architecture, design and arts databases that are supplied by ProQuest. It searches across 10 major research databases.
Once you get a list of references that match your search words, you will want to see if the Library can give you access to the document.
There are many different types of links in ProQuest - The Arts that will give you access to full-text documents.
Complete exercise 6a from the worksheet.
Many architecture and design journals are still released only in a print format which are held on the serial shelves in the Library.
>From the database record, click on the "Check full text@UTAS" link
>If the full text cannot be located from the Library suppliers of fulltext journals, you see the following message
>Click on the link to "Search catalogue by Journal Title"; where the journal title will be searched in the Library catalogue
>If the Library holds the journal title, check the article citation to see if the Library holds the required year, volume and issue on the shelves
Complete exercise 6b from the worksheet
