New Books on Trove
Trove is the Australian National Library's search engine, used to access the holdings of hundreds of Australian libraries, including university libraries.
You can keep up to date with books newly added to Trove on your topic by conducting a search and setting up an RSS feed. Simply:
Most publishers provide an email or RSS feed alert service to let you know when they have published new books on particular topics. Most of these alerts are based on broad disciplines, such as 'law', and cannot be narrowed further. Links to the alert services webpages of some academic law publishers are listed below.
Journal alerts can be set up to monitor new content in journals in a variety of ways:
More information about these options is included below.
| Tables of Contents Alerts |
JournalTOCs is a free journal alert service. It is a collection of tables of contents from around 25,000 academic journals, including over 1000 law journals (mostly from the UK). You can search by the title of the journal or browse through the list of law journals, and then "follow" the journals you wish to be alerted about. You will receive an RSS feed containing the table of contents as soon as a new journal issue is published online. This service includes both free and subscription journals. It includes journals that the University does not subscribe to so it may be necessary to submit a Document Delivery request. |
| Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) |
Available on HeinOnline (University staff & student access). CILP includes 650 (mostly US) journals which are available in full text on HeinOnline. It is updated weekly and has an archive going back to 1936. You can create a user profile in order to receive SmartCILP weekly email notifications. These alerts contain the contents of journals added in the last week. All CILP content has been categorised into 104 Subjects, and many of those subjects have been organised into 15 broad Topics that allow users to subscribe to multiple subjects and subject-specific journals at once. If you choose a Topic, you will be automatically subscribed to all the journal titles within that topic. Alternatively you can select a narrower Subject to subscribe to the journal titles within the subject. To receive and manage SmartCILP alerts, you must create a MyHein account - the link is in the top blue menu bar on every HEIN page. To register, click on MyHein in the blue menu bar in the top right of the Hein homepage and select ‘create an account’. Sign up with your name, your unimelb email address and a password (these details are not the same as your university login details and cannot be used to log in to Hein directly - you must access HEIN via our University subscription). For further information and assistance, see HeinOnline's Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP). |
| SSRN Legal Scholarship Network e-journal Alerts |
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a collaborative database of research papers set up to encourage the early distribution of research results. It has far more recent content than the big commercial law journal databases. SSRN's content is divided into Subject Area Networks. The Network for law is called the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Once you have registered you can sign up for alerts for papers in different subject areas - known as SSRN LSN e-journals. There are over 100 law e-journals on every conceivable legal topic. Note that you cannot create alerts for saved searches on SSRN, and the e-journals are on broad topics rather than your specific research query. When you create an account on SSRN you can subscribe to receive alerts about the latest submitted content. You will receive your subscribed e-journals via email - the email will include citations and abstracts, with links to the full-text articles. You will receive your subscribed e-journals via email - the email will include citations and abstracts, with links to the full-text articles. |
AGS provides a range of publications to assist clients, other Australian Government lawyers, researchers, academics, students and the public. Includes newsletters, facts sheets and other publications.
Law Library of Victoria Bulletin
The Law Library of Victoria produces a fortnightly bulletin that summarises the latest legislation and cases for the Victorian jurisdiction, as well as High Court of Australia cases. The bulletin also includes the latest new books added to the Library collection and a selected index of articles from journals received in the Library.
The Queensland Legal Updater is a current awareness service provided by the Supreme Court Library Queensland. Coverage includes a selection of the most important new Queensland cases and legislation from the past week, and all new practice directions issued. It also contains selected articles and speeches, upcoming professional development seminars, and recent additions to the Library’s collection.
The Parliamentary Library publishes the Parliamentary Handbook of the Commonwealth of Australia, research papers, Bills Digests, political press releases and political party documents. You can be alerted to new publications by subscribing to their RSS feed . It also has a blog on current issues relevant to members of Australian Parliament.
The Gazette contains the formal public notices that are required by law and Government to be published in the Gazette. It includes a range of notices received from various sources, including government departments, government business enterprises, State owned companies and the private sector. Check our UTAS Library catalogue for library holdings.
Find Legal Answers is a service provided by the Legal Information Access Centre (LIAC) at the State Library of NSW. This service provides legal information and resources to the NSW community. The website contains various links to resources, such as guides about specific legal topics, practical and procedural information, fact sheets, and books available at the NSW State Library.
Most Law Societies have a range of resources, annual reports and publications to keep practitioners up to date with legal trends and news. If you don't wish to become a member you can recommend to your library to subscribe to their resournces. Here is a list of the Law Societies in Australia.
Law Society of the Northern Territory
Queensland Law Society
Law Society of South Australia
The Bulletin is the Law Society’s flagship journal, featuring information on the latest developments in the legal profession, informed analysis on key justice issues, previews and reviews of major events, and engaging profiles of legal professionals. It is distributed monthly to Members and is available online.
Law Society of Tasmania
Law Society of Victoria
Law Society of Western Australia
