An open access archive of pre-prints and published articles with subject coverage for physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Its leading research journals include BMC Biology, BMC Medicine, Genome Biology and Genome Medicine, academic journals such as Journal of Hematology & Oncology, Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC series – 65 inclusive journals focused on the needs of individual research communities.

DOAB is a directory of peer-reviewed academic books from a range of publishers.

DOAJ is a community-curated independent online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Europe PMC is a repository providing access to worldwide life sciences articles, books, patents and clinical guidelines. Europe PMC provides links to relevant records in databases such as Uniprot, European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), Protein Data Bank Europe (PDBE) and BioStudies.

NORA is the institutional repository for the research publications and research outcomes of NERC Research Staff in its four wholly owned Research Centres: the British Antarctic Survey, the British Geological Survey, the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, and the National Oceanography Centre.

Public Library of Science (PLoS) was founded in 2001as a non-profit open access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. Top scientists from more than 190 countries around the world have published with PLoS, among them 61 Nobel Laureates.

Project Gutenberg offers over 54,000 free eBooks. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired.

The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.

An open database of over 20 million free scholarly articles, Unpaywall harvests open access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and makes it easy to find, track, and use. Its Chrome/Firefox extension allows you to "skip the paywall" on millions of peer-reviewed journal articles.