Skip to main content

Newspapers and news sources: Historical and ceased titles

Guide to newspapers and news media accessible at UTAS Library

Tasmanian Historical Newspapers

Archival Access:

The Hobart Town gazette and Southern Reporter was a Tasmanian newspaper established in 1816. In 1925 the title was split into two publications (see Hobart Town Gazette / The Colonial Times, and Tasmanian Advertiser). It's longest print run was under the name Colonial Times.  

You can access to the Colonial Times archival newspapers through a variety of sources: 

 Title

 Access

 Established: 

Hobart Town Gazette and Southern Reporter (1816-1821)


 Names changes/Absorbed:

Hobart Town gazette, and Van Diemen's Land advertiser
(1821-1825)

Colonial times, and Tasmanian advertiser (1825-1827)


Colonial Times (1828-1857)

 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1816 to 1821


 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1821 to 1825


 Trove: digital newspapers: 1825 to 1827


 Trove: digital newspapers: 1828 to 1857

 

 

For online archives of these and other Tasmanian Papers, see: Trove: digitised newspapers or Libraries Tasmania: news and newspapers.

A complete timeline of Tasmanian newspapers can be viewed via Libraries Tasmania

Archival Access:

The Cornwall Chronicle was a Tasmanian newspaper established in 1835. The Cornwall Chronicle was eventually absorbed into the Launceston Examiner. You can access to The Cornwall chronicle archival newspapers through a variety of sources: 

Title

 Access

Established: 

The Cornwall Chronicle (1835-1880)

 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1835 to 1880

For online archives of these and other Tasmanian Papers, see: Trove: digitised newspapers or Libraries Tasmania: news and newspapers.

complete timeline of Tasmanian newspapers can be viewed via Libraries Tasmania

Archival Access:

The Hobart Town Courier was a Tasmanian newspaper established in 1827. It's longest print run was under the name The Courier was eventually merged into The Hobart Town Daily Mercury

You can access The Courier's archival newspapers through a variety of sources: 

 Title

Access

 Established: 

Hobart Town Courier (1827-1839)
 


 Names changes:

The Hobart Town Courier and Van Diemen's Land Gazette (1839-1840)

The Courier (1840-1859)

 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1827 to 1839
 


 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1839 to 1840


 Trove: digital newspapers: 1840 to 1859

 

 

For online archives of these and other Tasmanian Papers, see: Trove: digitised newspapers or Libraries Tasmania: news and newspapers.

complete timeline of Tasmanian newspapers can be viewed via Libraries Tasmania

Archival Access:

The Emu Bay Times and North West & West Coast Advocate was a Tasmanian newspaper which ran from 1897 until 1899. It originally was printed under the name Wellington Times and Agricultural and Mining Gazette and was established 1890. The Emu Bay Times is now known as The Advocate

You can access The Emu Bay Times archival newspapers through a variety of sources: 

 Title

 Access

 Established: 

Wellington Times and Agricultural and Mining Gazette (1890-1897)


 Names changes/absorbed:

The Emu Bay Times and North West & West Coast Advocate (1897-1899)

The North Western Advocate and the Emy Bay Times Tasmania (1899-1919)

The Advocate (1919+)

 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1890 to 1897
 


 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1897 to 1899

 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1899 to 1919
 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1919 to 1954
 Library online access:        2006 to present

 

For online archives of these and other Tasmanian Papers, see: Trove: digitised newspapers or Libraries Tasmania: news and newspapers.

complete timeline of Tasmanian newspapers can be viewed via Libraries Tasmania

Archival Access:

The Hobart Town gazette and Southern Reporter was a Tasmanian newspaper established in 1816. In 1925 the title was split into two publications (see Hobart Town Gazette / The Colonial Times, and Tasmanian Advertiser). 

You can access to the Hobart Town Gazette archival newspapers through a variety of sources: 

Title

 Access

Established: 

Hobart Town Gazette and Southern Reporter (1816-1821)


Names changes:

Hobart Town Gazette, and Van Diemen's Land advertiser
(1821-1825)

Hobart Town Gazette (1825-1880)


 


Hobart Gazette (1882-1906)

Tasmanian Government Gazette (1907+)

 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1816 to 1821


 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1821 to 1825


 Trove: digital newspapers: 1825 to 1827
 Print (Law Library): 1828 to 1880 [impf]
 Print (Morris Miller Library): 1820 to 1863
 [impf]

 

 Print: Law Library: 1882 to 1906

 Print: Law Library: 1907 to present [impf]

 

For online archives of these and other Tasmanian Papers, see: Trove: digitised newspapers or Libraries Tasmania: news and newspapers.

complete timeline of Tasmanian newspapers can be viewed via Libraries Tasmania

Archival Access:

The Hobarton Mercury was a Tasmanian newspaper which ran from 1854 until 1857. It originally was printed under the name The Guardian or True Friend of Tasmania in 1847. The Hobarton Mercury is now known as The Mercury.

You can access the Hobarton Mercury archival newspapers through a variety of sources: 

 Title

 Access

 Established: 

The Guardian or True Friend of Tasmania (1847)


 Names changes/Absorbed:

Hobarton Guardian or True Friend of Tasmania (1847-1854)

The Hobarton Mercury (1854-1857)
 

The Hobart Town Mercury (1857)
 

The Hobart Town Daily Mercury (1858-1860)
 

The Mercury (1860+)

 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1847


 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1847 to 1854

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1854 to 1857
 Library online access:        1854 to 1857

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1857
 Library online access:        1857

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1858 to 1860
 Library online access:        1858 to 1860

 Trove digital newspapers: 1860 to 1964
 Library online access:       1860 to present

 

 

For online archives of these and other Tasmanian Papers, see: Trove: digitised newspapers or Libraries Tasmania: news and newspapers.

complete timeline of Tasmanian newspapers can be viewed via Libraries Tasmania

Archival Access:

The Launceston Examiner was a Tasmanian newspaper which ran from 1842 until 1899. It originally was printed under the name Launceston Advertiser and was established 1829. The Launceston Examiner is now known as The Examiner.

You can access the Launceston Examiner archival newspapers through a variety of sources: 

 Title

 Access

 Established: 

Launceston Advertiser (1829-1846)


 Names changes/Absorbed:

Launceston Examiner (1842-1899)

The Examiner (1900+)

 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1829 to 1846


 

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1842 to 1899

 Trove: digital newspapers: 1900 to 1954
 Library online access:        2001 to present

 

For online archives of these and other Tasmanian Papers, see: Trove: digitised newspapers or Libraries Tasmania: news and newspapers.

complete timeline of Tasmanian newspapers can be viewed via Libraries Tasmania

Historical indexes