Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AGLC4 Referencing Guide

Introductory Guide to ALCG4 referencing

How do I cite this source?

 

If you wish to cite a source that is not explicitly covered by the AGLC rules you can analogise with the existing rules. Just remember the main principles of legal citation are clarity and consistency.

 

As stated in the Guide:

"[T]here is no single correct way to cite a source and it will be a matter of judgment as to which rule you adhere to."

 

Cases

Material Type

Footnote Example

Bibliography Example

Reported Judgments:

(Rule 2)

R v Tang (2008) 237 CLR 1, 7.

R v Tang (2008) 237 CLR 1

Bakker v Stewart [1980] VR 17, 22.

Bakker v Stewart [1980] VR 17

Unreported Decisions with a medium Neutral Citation: 

(Rule 2.3.1)

Quarmby v Keating [2009] TASCC 80, [11].

Quarmby v Keating [2009] TASCC 80

Unreported Decisions without a medium Neutral Citation: 

(Rule 2.3.2)

Barton v Chibber (Supreme Court of Victoria, Hampel J, 29 June 1989) 3.

 Barton v Chibber (Supreme Court of Victoria, Hampel J, 29 June 1989) 

Legislation 

Material Type

Footnote Example

Bibliography Example

Australian Constitution:

(Rule 3.6)

 

Australian Constitution s 51(ii).

 

Australian Constitution

Statutes (Acts of Parliament):

(Rule 3.1)

 

Criminal Code (Tas) s 5. 

 

Criminal Code (Tas)

1  Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth) s 28.

Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth)

1  Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Amendment Act 2006 (Cth) sch 1 item 46.

Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Amendment Act 2006 (Cth)

Delegated Legislation (rules, regulations, orders):

(Rule 2.3.1)

 

1  Poisons Regulations 2008 (Tas) reg 10.

 

Poisons Regulations 2008 (Tas)

1  Federal Court Rules 1979 (Cth) ords 3,5.

Note: for futher details on abbreviations see AGLC, Table 3.4.

Federal Court Rules 1979 (Cth)

Gazettes:

(Rule 3.9.1)

1  Tasmania, Tasmanian Government Gazette,

No 21 499, 18 February 2015, 200.

Tasmania, Tasmanian Government Gazette, No 21 499, 18 February 2015

Bills:

(Rule 3.2)

 

1 Coroners Amendment Bill 2014 (Tas) cl 7. 

 

Coroners Amendment Bill 2014 (Tas)

Explanatory Memoranda:

(Rule 3.7)

 

1 Explanatory Memorandum, Conservation and Land Management Amendment Bill 2002 (WA).

 

Explanatory Memorandum, Conservation and Land Management Amendment Bill 2002 (WA)

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Material Type

Footnote Example

Bibliography Example

Dictionaries: 

(Rule 7.6) 

1 Macquarie Dictionary (5th ed, 2009) 'demise' (def 4).

Macquarie Dictionary (5th ed, 2009) 

1 Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (online at 20 February 2018) 'default judgment' (def 1).

Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (online at 20 February 2018) 

Encyclopedias: 

(Rule 7.7) 

1 LexisNexis, Halsbury's Laws of Australia, vol 15 (at May 2009) 235 Insurance, '2 General Principles' [235-270]. LexisNexis, Halsbury's Laws of Australia, vol 15 (at May 2009) 
  1 Westlaw AU, The Laws of Australia (online at 15 February 2018) Administrative Law, '2.3 Access to Information' [2.3.10] Westlaw AU, The Laws of Australia (online at 15 February 2018) 

Books and eBooks 

Material Type

Footnote Example

Bibliography Example

Single Author:

(Rules 4.1.1 & 6.1)

 G E Dal Pont, Lawyers' Professional Responsibility (LexisNexis Butterworths, 5th ed, 2013) 199.

Dal Pont, G E, Lawyers' Professional Responsibility (LexisNexis Butterworths, 5th ed, 2013)

2 or 3 Authors:

(Rules 4.1.2 & 6.1)

Kelley Burton, Thomas Crofts and Stella Tarrant, Principles of Criminal Law in Queensland and Western Australia (Lawbook, 2011) 80-1.

Burton, Kelley, Thomas Crofts and Stella Tarrant, Principles of Criminal Law in Queensland and Western Australia (Lawbook, 2011)

More Than 3 Authors:

(Rules 4.1.3 & 6.1)

1 Michael Tilbury et al, Remedies: Commentary and Materials (Thomson Reuters, 5th ed, 2011) 701-11.

Tilbury, Michael et al, Remedies: Commentary and Materials (Thomson Reuters, 5th ed, 2011)

Organisation as Author:

(Rules 4.1.4 & 6.1)

McGill Law Journal, Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation (Carswell Thomson, 4th ed, 1998). 

Note: "McGill Law Journal" is the author, as an organisation

McGill Law Journal, Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation (Carswell Thomson, 4th ed, 1998)

No Author:

(Rules 4.1.4 & 6.1)

1 Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary (Cambridge University Press, 2003) 943.

Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary (Cambridge University Press, 2003)

Editor/s:

(Rules 4.1.3 & 6.1)

Paul Martin et al (eds), Environmental Governance and Sustainability (Edward Elgar, 2012).

Martin, Paul et al (eds), Environmental Governance and Sustainability (Edward Elgar, 2012)

Multi-volume:

(Rule 6.5)

E J Cohn and W Zdzieblo, Manual of German Law (Oceana Publications, 2nd revised ed, 1968) vol 1, 91. 

 Cohn, E J and W Zdzieblo, Manual of German Law (Oceana Publications, 2nd revised ed, 1968) vol 1

Translations:

(Rule 6.7)

The Qur'an (Tarif Khalisi trans, Harvard University Press, 1972).

 The Qur'an (Tarif Khalisi trans, Harvard University Press, 1972)

Chapter in Edited Book:

(Rule 6.6.1)

Jeff Berryman and Robyn Carroll, 'Cy-près as a Class Action Remedy - Justly Maligned or Just Misunderstood?' in Kit Barker and Darryn Jensen (eds), Private Law: Key Encounters with Public Law (Cambridge University Press, 2013) 320-22.

Berryman, Jeff and Robyn Carroll, 'Cy-près as a Class Action Remedy - Justly Maligned or Just Misunderstood?' in Kit Barker and Darryn Jensen (eds), Private Law: Key Encounters with Public Law (Cambridge University Press, 2013)

eBook:

Note: Cite an eBook as you would a print book.

Robert Baldwin, Martin Cave and Martin Lodge, Understanding Regulation: Theory, Strategy, and Practice (Oxford University Press, 2nd ed, 2012).

 

Baldwin, Robert, Martin Cave and Martin Lodge, Understanding Regulation: Theory, Strategy, and Practice (Oxford University Press, 2nd ed, 2012)

     

Journal articles

Material Type

Footnote Example

Bibliography Example

One author, no issue number

(Rule 5.1 and 5.10)

Augusto Zimmeran, 'How Brazilian Judges Undermine the Rule of Law:  A Critical Appraisal' (2008) 11 International Trade and Business Law Review 179, 184.

Zimmeran, Augusto  'How Brazilian Judges Undermine the Rule of Law:  A Critical Appraisal' (2008) 11 International Trade and Business Law Review 179

Two authors, issue number, with pinpoint

(Rules 5.1, 5.4 and 5.7)

Simon Young and Sarah Murray, 'An Elegant Convergence? The Constitutional Entrenchment of Jurisdictional Error Review in Australia' (2011) 11(2) Oxford University Commonwealth Law Journal 117, 118.

Young, Simon and Sarah Murray, 'An Elegant Convergence? The Constitutional Entrenchment of Jurisdictional Error Review in Australia'  (2011) 11(2) Oxford University Commonwealth Law Journal 117

No author, no issue number

(Rules 5.1, 5.4 and 5.7)

Note, 'Live Free and Nullify: Against Purging Capital Juries of Death Penalty Opponents' (2014) 127 Harvard Law Review 2092.

Note: If the article is unsigned, the type of article, such as Note or Comment, is listed.  If the type isn't clear, begin the entry with the title.   

Note, 'Live Free and Nullify: Against Purging Capital Juries of Death Penalty Opponents' (2014) 127 Harvard Law Review 2092

Online journal, more than three authors, issue number with pinpoint 

(Rules 5.1, 5.4 and 5.10)

1Kate Lewins, 'What's the Trade Practices Act Got to Do with It? Section 74 and Towage Contracts in Australia' (2006) 13(1) eLaw Journal: Murdoch University Electronic Journal of Law 58, 59.

Lewins, Kate 'What's the Trade Practices Act Got to Do with It? Section 74 and Towage Contracts in Australia' (2006) 13(1) eLaw Journal: Murdoch University Electronic Journal of Law 58

 

Journal article forthcoming

(Rule 5.11) 

1 Genevieve Helleringer and Anne-Lise Sibony, 'European Consumer protection through the Behavioural Lens' (2017) 23 Columbia Journal of European Law (forthcoming).

Note: For forthcoming articles the starting page should be replaced with '(forthcoming)'. For articles available as an advance the starting page should be replaced with '(advance)'.

Helleringer, Genevieve and Anne-Lise Sibony, 'European Consumer protection through the Behavioural Lens' (2017) 23 Columbia Journal of European Law (forthcoming)

Online materials

Material.Type

Footnote Example

Reference List Example

Website full date created: 

(Rule 7.15)

International Committee of the Red Cross, Engaging with Religious Circles on Islamic Law and IHL (Web Page, 24 May 2018) <https://www.icrc.org/en/document/engaging-religious-circles-islamic-law-and-ihl>.

Note: When available, the full date of the last update of the web page should be used.

International Committee of the Red Cross, Engaging with Religious Circles on Islamic Law and IHL (Web Page, 24 May 2018) <https://www.icrc.org/en/document/engaging-religious-circles-islamic-law-and-ihl>

Website no date: 

(Rule 7.15)

Law Society of Western Australia, Our History (Web Page) <http://www.lawsocietywa.asn.au/history>.

Law Society of Western Australia, Our History (Web Page) <http://www.lawsocietywa.asn.au/history>

Social Media Post: 

(Rule 7.16)

@s_m_stephenson (Scott Stephenson) (Twitter, 17 July 2017, 9:37pm AEST) <https://twitter.com/s_m_stephenson/status/887169425551441921>, archived at <https://perma.cc/7A63-G2RT>. @s_m_stephenson (Scott Stephenson) (Twitter, 17 July 2017, 9:37pm AEST) <https://twitter.com/s_m_stephenson/status/887169425551441921>, archived at <https://perma.cc/7A63-G2RT>

IP Materials:

(Rule 7.9)

AU Trade Mark No 1701985, filed on 22 June 2015 (Registered on 28 January 2016) ('AGLC Trade Mark').  AU Trade Mark No 1701985, filed on 22 June 2015 (Registered on 28 January 2016) ('AGLC Trade Mark')

Newspapers

Material.Type

Footnote Example

Reference List Example

Signed with pinpoint

(Rule 7.11.1)

1 Stephanie Peatling, 'Female Chief Justice Rewrites the Script', The Age (Melbourne, 31 January 2017) 6.

Peatling, Stephanie, 'Female Chief Justice Rewrites the Script', The Age (Melbourne, 31 January 2017) 6

Unsigned with pinpoint

(Rules 7.11.1 and 7.11.4)

1 'Little Corporate Appeal in Green Bottom Line', BusinessThe Age (Melbourne, 6 June 2005). 

'Little Corporate Appeal in Green Bottom Line', BusinessThe Age (Melbourne, 6 June 2005)

Only available online, no page numbers

(Rule 7.11.2)

1 Farrah Tomazin, 'Kinder Wages Breakthrough', The Age (online at 19 May 2009) <http://www.theage.com/au/national/education/kinder-wages-breakthrough-20090519.bcwh.html>.

Tomazin, Farrah,  'Kinder Wages Breakthrough', The Age (online at 19 May 2009) <http://www.theage.com/au/national/education/kinder-wages-breakthrough-20090519.bcwh.html>

Other Secondary Sources

Material Type

Footnote Example

Bibliography Example

Law Reform Commission Reports (Rule 7.1.4)

Australian Law Reform Commission, For Your Information: Australian Privacy Law and Practice (Report No 108, May 2008).

Australian Law Reform Commission, For Your Information: Australian Privacy Law and Practice (Report No 108, May 2008) 

Theses

(Rule 7.2.5)

Ivan Milton Vodanovich, The Criminal Jury Trial in Western Australia (Phd Thesis, University of Western Australia, 1989).

Vodanovich, Ivan Milton, The Criminal Jury Trial in Western Australia (Phd Thesis, University of Western Australia, 1989)

Conference Papers

(Rule 7.2.4)

1 Jenny Lin, 'Audits of Shareholder Panels' (Conference Paper, Annual Congress of the World Auditors Association, 12 April 1994).

Note: For conference proceedings that are published as a book, use the book chapter format.

Lin, Jenny, 'Audits of Shareholder Panels' (Conference Paper, Annual Congress of the World Auditors Association, 12 April 1994)

Lectures

1 Peter Sinden, 'Primary Sources of Law' (LAWS1104 Lecture, University of Western Australia Law School, 2 November 2013).

Sinden, Peter, 'Primary Sources of Law' (LAWS1104 Lecture, University of Western Australia Law School, 2 November 2013)