Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

Newspapers and news sources  Tags: news  

Guide to newspapers and news media accessible at UTAS Library
Last update: Sep 04th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/newspapers  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Historical and ceased titles             Print Page
  

Google News Archive Search

Historical indexes

  • 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers  
    The digitised newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest collection of early English news media. Full text searching
  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers  
    The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
 

Ceased titles

  • Nation Review. 
  • The National Times. 
  • The National Times on Sunday. 
  • The Review.  Continues Nation Review
 
 

Tasmanian historical titles

Some access to digitised copies of these newspapers is available through the NLA's newspaper digitisation project, see box on right.

The Mercury (Hobart)


The Hobart Town Courier (Hobart)


Hobart Gazette (Hobart)


Hobart Town Gazette (Hobart)

The Hobart Town Gazette and Southern Reporter vols. 1-2; 3-4 (Hobart)

 

 

Other historical titles

Freeman's journal and daily commercial advertiser (Dublin)


Freeman's journal and national press (Dublin)


Nation (Dublin) see also Irish political and radical newspapers


Irish political and radical newspapers of the twentieth century


The Leader see Irish political and radical newspapers


The New York Times (New York)


Sydney Morning Herald (Sydney) (print)


The Times (London)
NB State Library of Tasmania members can use the Times Digital archive, 1785-1985

 
 

Digitisation Project

Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program is a project of the National Library of Australia. It will digitize historic Australian newspapers from all states spanning 1803 to 1954. It provides online full text searching.

Tasmanian titles include:

Colonial Times and Tasmanian Advertiser

The Courier (Hobart, Tas.)

Hobart Town Courier

Hobart Town Daily Mercury

Hobart Town Gazette and Southern Reporter

Hobart Town Gazette and Van Diemen's Land Advertiser

Hobart Town Mercury

Hobarton Mercury

The Mercury

Click here for complete title list

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait