Skip to Main Content

Law

Use this guide to access databases and websites important for legal research and guidance on locating law reports and unreported judgments, Acts of Parliament and delegated legislation, and secondary legal sources.

Contract Law

Journal of Contract Law

Mediation and commercial contract law [electronic resource] : towards a comprehensive legal framework / Maryam Salehijam

Corporation Law

Australian Journal of Corporate Law

Australian Corporation Law Legislation

Australian Corporation Law Principles & Practice

Australian Corporation Law Principles & Practice

Australian Corporations & Securities Reports

Butterworths Corporations Law Bulletin 

Ford, Austin & Ramsay's Principles of Corporations Law

Precedents - Corporations Suite

SNIPER - Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource

SNIPER provides information relating to IP Australia's core business areas, namely patents, trade marks and designs. SNIPER also includes other topics that impact on IP Australia's business, especially related intellectual property matters such as copyright, plant breeder's rights and domain names. These related matters are included if they relate to significant Australian or international trends and developments, or if they are significant to the field of intellectual property as a whole.
2000 +

Evidence Law

Discrimination and Human Rights Law

Human Rights Law guides online

UTAS Legal Research – International Law Research

Monash – International law: Human Rights

University of Melbourne Human Rights Law 

University of Sydney   Human Rights Law  

Georgetown Law – Human Rights Law Research Guide

United Nations Human Rights - Research Guides and Resources

American Society of International Law - Electronic Resource Guide 

eBooks for International Law research methodologies:

Research methods in human rights [electronic resource] / [edited by] Lee McConnell and Rhona Smith

Research methods in human rights [electronic resource] : a handbook / edited by Bård A. Andreassen

Research methods for international human rights law [electronic resource] : beyond the traditional paradigm / edited by Damian Gonzalez-Salzberg and Loveday Hodson.

Databases:

AGIS Plus Text (Attorney-General's Information Service Plus Text)

Indexing & full text database that provides access to journal articles on all aspects of Australian law. The majority are from Australia, NZ & Pacific law journals but there are selected articles from major law journals from the US, Canada & the UK.

AGIS-ATSIS (Attorney-General's Information Service-Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset)

A subset of AGIS database that contains records specifically related to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Coverage includes: legal issues such as land rights, native title, customary law, Aboriginal deaths in custody, Aborigines in the criminal justice system, racial discrimination, indigenous intellectual property, and Aboriginal youth and juvenile justice.

APAIS-ATSIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset)

Coverage: 1978-present. Database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material related to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the social sciences and humanities area, including history, economics, politics, current affairs and culture. APAIS-ATSIS contains over 18,000 web links to online content

AustLII

Free internet access to Australasian legal materials.

Brill Online Books and Journals

Cambridge Books Online : Law Collection 

CINCH (Australian Criminology Database)

Covers all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime and is produced by the JV Barry Library, Australian Institute of Criminology.
1968 +

EUR-Lex

HeinOnline

American scholarly law journals, with some content from selected Commonwealth countries.

Informit

A suite of databases containing references to Australian publications in a variety of disciplines including Arts, Sciences, Education & Law.

Lawlex

Lawlex provides access to the full text of Australian legislation including bills, acts and regulations. All jurisdictions are covered. The Search Legislation function in Lawlex is freely available to everyone. Full access to all content and features requires a subscription.

Lexis Advance

Lexis Advance (Formerly LexisNexis International) contains a comprehensive collection of full text legal resources including both primary and secondary material from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia and other jurisdictions.

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law

Oxford Journals Online [OUP]

Oxford Reports on International Law

Full text decisions of international courts and international law decisions in domestic courts from 1904.

Oxford Scholarship Online : Law Collection

Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition Compendium

Thomson Reuters Westlaw

U.S. and foreign primary and secondary legal materials.

United Nations Official Document System

Parliamentary documents and official reports of the United Nations

United Nations Treaty Collections Online

Includes UN Treaty Series 1946+League of Nations Treaty Series and Status of Multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General series

WorldLII (International Courts and Tribunals Collection)

Includes full text decisions from 38 courts and tribunals.

Family law

Australian Journal of Family Law

Australian Family Law

Australian Family Law Bulletin

Australian Family Law State Legislation

Australian Family Law State Legislation Bulletin

Family Law Reports

Family & Society Collection (Informit)

Covers family, marriage, women; culture and institutions, private, civil and family law; social services and public welfare. Content includes peer-reviewed journals from government and specialist associations tackling modern debates on topics including non-traditional families, parenting, marriage, divorce, division of labour, working mothers, birth rates and ageing.

Precedents - Family Law Suite

Wills, estates and succession law

There are a number of resources to assist you with legal history research.

The Bodleian Library has prepared a research guide on English Legal History, which lists an extensive range of resources.

The Georgetown Law School Library's Guide to Legal History Databases includes annotations for numerous important titles.

The University of Melbourne History research guide provides information on general historical research.

The National Archives Research Guides provide information on how to find records held by the UK National Archives.

Legal History Blogs see: Triangle Legal History Seminar

Legal History Societies & Collections

LEGENDcom 

Provided by the Dept. of Immigration and Citizenship, this database includes core portfolio legislation and policy documents relating to citizenship and migration. Access the username and password by clicking on the link.