Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Support : Research Databases

An introduction to library services and resources available to support researchers at UTAS.

Types of Databases

Indexing and Abstracting Databases

provide bibliographic details only ie. author, title, subject headings or sometmes an abstract (summary) of the item too.

Fulltext Databases

provide bibliographic information, usually an abstract and the full text of the item which may be printed or downloaded.

Citation Databases

provide citation data, bibliographic details, and sometimes an abstract (summary) or full text of the item.

Review Databases

provide review articles on specific topics and often for a specific timeframe.  Annual Reviews is dedicated to providing review articles but other databases often include review articles too.

Citation Indexes

Citation Indexes are a key research tool, providing access to multidisciplinary literature from high impact research journals. They allow you to use an existing reference to:

  • navigate backward in time using Cited References to find the research that underpinned an author's work
  • navigate forward in time using Times Cited to discover the impact of research
  • find related papers
  • analyse search results
  • personalise preferences and settings
  • set up search alerts and citation alerts
  • create custom journal lists

Cited Reference searching is a fast and efficient way of finding information relating specifically to your research.

Start your citation searching with:

Database Information

View the Library Guides to identify relevant databases in your research area

Select a specific database from the A-Z list

Contact a Librarian for further guidance on accessing or using research databases

Attend a workshop on using research databases