Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the newspapers and news sources guide.
Use this guide to discover UTAS Library's newspapers and news sources
News & Newspaper databases
ANZ Reference Centre Plus
Online Australian Newspapers
Gale OneFile: News
provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Thomson Reuters Westlaw
Thomson Reuters Westlaw: Go to the News link within Westlaw for Australian and International Newspapers. Search within the fulltext articles, letters and columns.
Major Digital Archives
Times Digital Archive
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
19th Century British Library Newspapers
The collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
Libraries Tasmania and Trove
Libraries Tasmania has an extensive overview of the News and Newspapers. It lists local, national and international newspapers covering both current and historical access. It includes access to news databases for Libraries Tasmania patrons.
The Tasmanian Index to Tasmanian newspapers and journals is also highly recommended.
Trove's digitised newspapers contains historic and modern newspapers that are accessible online. It contains:
- Australian Newspapers
- Early historical Australian newspapers between 1803 and 1955.
For futher information: