Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library News: Finding Fulltext

Find Full Text Table

1. Browser extensions can improve access to full-text

Internet browser plug-ins (also known as add-ons or extensions) can help you to find the best available full text pdf of an academic article. It searches UTAS subscriptions and open databases.

LibKey Nomad

https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/

Libkey Nomad provides instant links to full text content for article subscribed to by our library - or open access alternatives - as you do research on the web and come across literature. 

Using Chrome, go to the LibKey Nomad link above or directly to your extensions page to install. Follow the prompts.

After installation, LibKey Nomad prompts you to select your subscribing institution. After that, it simply automatically scans for scholarly content wherever you may roam.

 

EndNote Click - formerly Kopernio

click.endnote.com

EndNote Click, formally known as Kopernio, saves you time by putting PDF Download links onto many search result pages and publisher websites. It helps you save papers to your reference management software or to Dropbox. It works in Chrome, Firefox or Opera web browsers.

You can install using Chrome, for example, by going to the EndNote Click website and select “Add to Chrome for free”.

Whichever browser you use, you have to create an account and indicate that you are a UTAS student.

Once you’ve set it up, you can see the purple EndNote Click icon in your browser.

When you get search results, you see EndNote Click working to find a PDF and then the PDF page/s, if available. You can direct EndNote Click to export references and the saved PDFs to EndNote.

 

Unpaywall

http://unpaywall.org/products/extension

Unpaywall is another browser extension that can try to locate full-text PDF articles to match your search results. It shows an open padlock on the RHS of the window if a PDF is found.

NB the colour of the padlock varies based on the type of access, but as long as it's "unlocked" access to a PDF should be possible.

 

Google Scholar Button

The Google Scholar Button adds a browser button for easy access to Google Scholar from any web page. Click the Scholar button to: Find full text on the web or in the University of Tasmania library. Select the title of the paper on the page you're reading, and click the Scholar button to find it.

 

2. Google Scholar Settings

You can setup Google Scholar with a link to UTAS Library, so it improves your chances of finding fulltext.

Add UTAS Library links to your Google Scholar settings, as follows:

  • Go the Google Scholar menu 

undefined

  • Locate the Settings wheel 

undefined

  • Find the Library Links option 

undefined

  • Type University of Tasmania in the search box and select from results, e.g.

 undefined

What if the item is not in the library? (Document Delivery Service)

Do you need access to material we don't hold in our Library collection, whether print or electronic ? If you have checked the catalogue, databases and journal holdings and the item you want is not available, you can use our Document Delivery Service, which also operates an interlibrary loan service for print items. 

Here is how to find something through Document Delivery.

 

We recommend you access the journal, or the database, through the Library homepage – this prompts you to authenticate as a UTAS student (or staff member) via your UTAS email username and password and lets publishers know you're entitled to this access. 

  1. Go to the Library home page. https://www.utas.edu.au/library
  2. Click on the Catalogue or Databases link under the Library MegaSearch search box

undefined

 

 

Contact Library.Resources@utas.edu.au if you're having trouble accessing a journal or database you've used previously. The Library Resources team may be able to identify and resolve any issues.

Free and Open Access resources