Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library News: Latest News

Have you discovered our library services?

 

The Library provides a huge range of resources and services that can help with your study.

  • Have you heard of our Reading List service? You can access the content for your unit all in the one place. Don't see your unit in the list? Contact your unit coordinator and let them know.
  • Our Library Guides have useful information on a range of topics. Have a look at the guides for...
  • We have a range of streaming media options that can help in your study or just as something to watch as a break from study - Kanopy & Clickview have movies, TV series and documentaries on just about anything you can think of

There is so much more that we provide. You can learn more on our For students page.

 

 New Inveresk Library - now open!

Come and visit our newest library on the Inveresk Precinct. You can get a sneak peak our the library in this video

The new library includes:

  • group and quiet study spaces
  • Art and cultural objects, including the Riawunna collection
  • student computers on all floors
  • UConnect services on Level 1
  • Student kitchenette (coming soon)
  • Parenting room

Metro now offers a free bus service to staff and students between Newnham and Inveresk - just show your University ID card to access your free ride.

Here's a little more about our new Inveresk Library

 

Library Services & UConnect

 

The following Library service points will provide Library dedicated services such as providing expertise on how to access and use information resources in print and online.

  • Carington Smith Library (Hunter Street)
  • Clinical Library (Hobart)
  • Launceston Campus Library (Newnham). 

All UConnect face to face services such as production of ID card, student lifecycle and library related enquiries will be available at the following service points. Please note that the standard opening hours are Monday to Friday 8:45am to 5pm, unless specified otherwise in parenthesis.

  • Morris Miller Library, Sandy Bay
  • Law Library, Sandy Bay
  • Student Services in Kerslake Building, Newnham (open Monday to Friday 10am to 4pm)
  • Cradle Coast
  • MidCity, 88 Elizabeth St, Hobart
  • Rozelle Campus Library, Rozelle (open Monday to Thursday 8:45am to 5pm)

UConnect can also be contacted online, over the phone or via mail:

  • Email U.Connect@utas.edu.au​​​​​:
  • Call: 1300 826 663 / +61 3 6226 6111 (8:45am to 5:00pm, business days)
  • Submit a question
  • Mail: UConnect | University of Tasmania, Private Bag 45, Hobart, TAS, 7001

Or contact the Library here: https://www.utas.edu.au/library/contact-us

 

UTAS Sustainability

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Library has collated a large number of resources to support UTAS' sustainability endeavours. There are books, journals, databases and other resources that will help in achieving a better and more sustainable future.

Take a look at our Sustainability Research Guide to access to some of the key sustainability resources. Here's a taste...

 

 

What's new?

Acorn Standards
The ACORN Standards for Perioperative Nursing in Australia (the Standards) constitute the specialty knowledge of the perioperative nursing community in Australia and represent the accepted standard for professional perioperative nursing practice.

Campus Review
Provides higher education news across Australia.

Emerald management portfolio
A comprehensive collection offering perspectives from a range of different industries on traditional management disciplines, while also reflecting on emerging societal challenges such as climate change, inequality and conflict. Click here to find out more about the package. Access full text content by title through the Library catalogue or indexed articles via Scopus

Examiner Newspaper, The
The Examiner delivers latest news from Launceston TAS. Articles can be read online via the University network. 'Login' and 'Subscribe' buttons on the webpage can be ignored. 

Lancet Neurology
An authoritative forum for key opinion leaders across medicine, government, and health systems to influence clinical practice, explore global policy, and inform constructive, positive change worldwide. The journal contains original research, expert review, candid commentary, and breaking news.

Nature Aging
Contains research from across the entire spectrum of the field of aging. Content ranges from the basic biology of aging to the impact of aging on society. 

Nature Sustainability
New journal from Nature publishing covering a broad range of natural, social and engineering fields about sustainability, its policy dimensions and possible solutions.

RCNi Journals
Now subscribing to 10 RCNi journals that provides the latest developments impacting nursing, including changes in policy, practice and research. Journals are:

Sage Research Methods
Provides materials to support researchers at every stage of the research process

Sustainable Development Goals Online
SDGO is a curated interdisciplinary collection of digital content mapped to the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The collection includes more than 12,000 book chapters and journal articles, multi-format teaching resources, videos and lesson plans.

Want an easy way to identify whether you can get the full text of an article?

 

Add the LibKey Nomad extension to your favourite browser and you'll be able to tell straight away if the whole article is available to you to read.

What is LibKey Nomad?

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that detects available scholarly content, notifies the user of availability, and connects them to the content in one-click.  It speeds up access to the full text on publisher pages, PubMed, Wikipedia and many other sites.

When LibKey Nomad is installed you will see in your search results whether there is full access to an article when you see this symbol

This is how is might appear...

 

How do I get it?

Installation in Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Brave & Vivaldi is simple!  Just visit libkeynomad.com and click the icon for your browser.

Your browser will then ask you to confirm.  Choose your institution (University of Tasmania) at the resulting LibKey interface and you are all set!