Skip to main content

Visual Arts: Finding Journal Articles

This introduces you to a reliable approach for finding information and identifies key library resources in the fields of visual arts

Important
This Guide is no longer being maintained or updated, and will be unavailable after 30/07/2018.

The new Library Subject Guides can be found here: http://utas.libguides.com/home


Please contact the Student Learning Librarians at LearnTeach.Librarians@utas.edu.au if you have any concerns about this change.

MegaSearch

UTAS Library Megasearch

Search across UTAS Library electronic resources, books and more with MEGASEARCH

Search Google Scholar

Set your Google Scholar preferences to tell you when the UTAS Library holds an article:

  • Go to Google Scholar
  • Select Scholar Preferences
  • In the Library Links section enter “ University of Tasmania” and click Find Library
  • Select the box next to “ University of Tasmania Library – check for full text @ UTAS
  • Click on Save Preferences at the top of the page

Whenever you search Google Scholar, look for the check full text @ UTAS link.

What are databases?

Databases?!! Journals?!

Databases are collections of information  UTAS library's databases contain a large number of different journal titles and articles. They may also contain other kinds of information, like theses and conference proceedings Some databases contain full text articles, while others may only provide you with citation information

Key Databases

Journal databases are often subject specific so it is important to check that you are looking in the right place for your information. Start your search for journal articles by selecting one of these art-related databases or try the MegaSearch box to seach multiple databases at once.

Other recommended databases

Australian Sources

News Clippings

Search this collection of art-related press clippings belonging to the Research Library of the Art Gallery of New South Wales, one of the most complete of its kind in Australia

http://pressclippings.ag.nsw.gov.au/