This is the "About Summon" page of the "Summon" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Summon  

Welcome. This guide is about finding information using Summon, the Library's new searching tool.
Last Updated: Apr 29, 2013 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/summon Print Guide RSS Updates

About Summon Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is Summon?

Introducing the Summon™, the Library's new unified discovery service. Summon™ allows the researcher to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content. It goes beyond federated search, beyond next-generation catalogs to create an all-new service for libraries. Through one simple search, it provides instant access to the breadth of authoritative content that's the hallmark of great libraries - digital and print, audio and video, single articles to entire e-journals, and every format in between.

A single search

Provides a Google-like search experience, allowing researchers to use one search box to discover credible and reliable library content.

Relevant results

Delivers search results in a relevancy-ranked list so the most relevant results appear at the top of the list.

Links to full-text

Incorporates the comprehensive knowledge of your library's holdings so that researchers can access their results including full-text of electronic articles.

Results refinement

Easily navigate and narrow search result sets using multiple methods, such as filtering, faceting and sorting.

Clear, immediate results

Valuable information is conveniently displayed within the results list, allowing for quick appraisal. This data includes abstracts, item location, online full text availability, and more.

Full-text filter

The Summon™ tool provides time-efficient research for the busy student by allowing results set to be limited to items immediately available in full text online.

Citation formatting

Quickly cut and paste citations in your preferred style.

Bibliographic information export

Easily export citations to bibliographic management software applications such as EndNote, RefWorks and ProCite.

Scholarship filter

Giving you the ability to limit results to "scholarly" publications including peer- reviewed material.

"Did you mean?" suggestions

The intuitive Summon™ tool provides alternative guidance for misspellings or low yield queries.

 

Browsers supported

Summon supports the following browsers and phones:

  • Internet Explorer 6.0+
  • Firefox 3.0+
  • Safari 3.0+
  • iPhone 2.0+
  • Blackberry 8500+
  • Android 1.0+
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip