Subject Guides: Newspapers and news sources: Tasmanian newspapers

Tasmanian Newspapers

The Mercury

You can also read The Sunday Tasmanian via the Mercury campus subscription.

First time using the Mercury campus subscription? You will need to create an account with News Corp using the link via the Username/password page. See the creating an account help guide to get started. Once created, you will be able to access the Mercury newspaper directly from the Mercury's website.

The Examiner

The Examiner delivers the latest news from Northern Tasmania. Read full text articles on The Examiner website. For those accessing off campus, you will need to visit The Examiner via this guide or the Library website. Account creation not required.

The subscription does not include the online newspaper view.

The Advocate

The Advocate delivers the latest news from North-West Tasmania. Read full text articles on The Advocate website. For those accessing off campus, you will need to visit The Advocate via this guide or the Library website. Account creation not required.

The subscription does not include the online newspaper view.

Other Tasmanian Newspapers

Search the library catalogue to find newspapers on microfiche or to locate other Tasmanian newspapers not listed in this guide.

Other sources

Tasmanian Newspapers are also indexed within several other library databases. These are particularly useful when looking for past articles.

ANZ Reference Centre Plus This link opens in a new window
Online Australian Newspapers, journals, magazines and images with focus on Australia and NZ.
Including Australian Financial Review
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News is a full-text newspaper resource providing access to regional, local, and national newspapers from the United States, and other countries and territories.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank has full-text articles from more than 750 Australian newspapers and news sources, including local, regional and national papers. Includes transcripts from radio broadcasts, blogs and newswires. Full Image versions of many major Australian papers, including The Mercury, The Australian, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age. [Australian Financial Review not included].
Coverage for most titles extends from the 1990s and 2000s through to the present day.
All papers include full text of news stories, as well as sections such as obituaries, literary criticism, people, editorials, book and film reviews. Includes special hot topics summaries.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. Includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. Also offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
This is a US based database. Australian newspapers are listed under 'International News'
Trove from the National Library of Australia This link opens in a new window
Trove provides access to more than 380 million multi-disciplinary resources produced by Australians, about Australia or of interest to the Australian community. Includes collections from Libraries Australia, Music Australia, Universities and other collecting institutions. Resources include: sheet music, sound recordings, interviews, images and newspaper articles.

Accessing Mercury Newspaper within Thomson Reuters WestLaw The Mercury Newspaper is indexed within several of our Library Databases.

University of Tasmania, Australia