Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

Human Life Sciences  Tags: health_sciences human_bioscience clinical_chemistry environmental_health  

This guide will help you find information and resources available at the UTAS library
Last update: Jul 16th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/humanlifesciences  Print Guide  RSS Updates

How do I find journal articles? (Databases)             Print Page
  
 

Journals

Journals contain articles of current research and commentary on a particular subject.

Peer reviewed journals are a great source of information for academic assignments. The articles in such journals have passed a rigorous review process by experts in the field before they are published

Journals at UTAS may be available in print or electronically (e journals) 

 

Search for journals

Use the library catalogue to search for print or electronic journal titles


or get more search options
 

e-journals

The library has many electronic journals (ejournals) you can browse online.

Click  here  to find some relevant titles

 

What is a citation?

A citation is the information used to identify a journal article

Typically it includes the author(s) name, year of publication, article title, journal title, volume number, issue number and the page number the article starts on

For example:

Schrecker, T, Labonte, R, De Vogli, R 2008 'Globalisation and health: the need for a global vision' The Lancet, vol. 372,  no. 9650, pp 1670.

 

Key Databases

Databases index journal articles. Search on keywords from your topic in one of these databases, to find relevant journal articles.

  • ProQuest Health and Medical Complete  
      
    A searchable collection of over 200 medical journals. Some full text available
  • Medline via PubMed  
      
    US National Library of Medicine database. Over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals covering medicine, the health care system and preclinical sciences articles. Includes links to full text articles
  • EMBASE  
      
    Comprehensive, timely access to pharmacological, biomedical literature. More than 18 million records

Other Recommended Databases

  • Scopus  
      
    Covers general science literature including health and life science
  • CAB Abstracts  
      
    Primarily indexes agricultural science but does contain a human nutrition subset
  • APAIS-Health  
      
    Covers health and medicine in Australia, emphasis on legal, social, economic and ethical aspects
  • ATSI-Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islanders Bibliography  
      
    Covers Australian idigenous health
  • Meditext  
      
    Australian health and medicine, emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Some full text available
  • Health & Society  
      
    Covers Australian health policy and services. Also includes social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health.
  • MD Consult  
    Includes 50 online medical reference texts, 80 fulltext journals, drug information
 

CrossSearch

Search multiple subject areas and databases at once

CrossSearch

 

Search Google Scholar

Search engine for scholarly literature. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports


(search results open in a new window)
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait