Journal ImpactResearcher Impact
SEiR Documents
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

Research Support  Tags: theses research eprints endnote impact_factors web_of_science citations liaison_librarians academic_writing literature_review referencing libraries journal_impact  

A guide to library services and resources available for post-graduate students and researchers at UTAS.
Last update: Oct 29th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/researchers  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research Databases            Print Page
  

Types of Databases

Indexing and Abstracting Databases

Provide bibliographic details only ie. author, title, subject headings or sometmes an abstract (summary) of the item too.

Fulltext Databases

Provide bibliographic information, usually an abstract and the full text of the item which may be printed or downloaded.

Citation Databases

Provide citation data, bibliographic details, and sometimes an abstract (summary) or full text of the item.

 

      
     

    Citation Indexes

    Citation Indexes are a key research tool, providing access to multidisciplinary literature from high impact research journals. They allow you to use an existing reference to:

    • navigate backward in time using Cited References to find the research that underpinned an author's work
    • navigate forward in time using Times Cited to discover the impact of research
    • find related papers
    • analyse search results
    • personalise preferences and settings
    • set up search alerts and citation alerts
    • create custom journal lists

    Cited Reference searching is a fast and efficient way of finding information relating specifically to your research.

    Start your citation searching with:

    • Scopus  
      A multi-discipline database indexing peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, book series and patents.
    • Web of Science  
      Indexes over 10,000 high impact journals in all subject areas. Articles indexed since 1991 have links to articles cited by and citing that article.
    • Web of Knowledge  
      Includes Web of Science as well as the following databases, critical to research:

      * Current Contents Connect
      * Journal Citation Reports
    • Google Scholar  
     

    Database Information

     

    View the Subject Guides to identify relevant databases in your research area

    Select a specific database from the A-Z list

    Contact your Liaison Librarian for further guidance on accessing or using research databases

    Attend a workshop on using research databases

        
       

      Library catalogue


      or get more search options

      Search for printed and electronic serials/journals in our collections.
       
      Description

        Loading content... please wait