Journal ImpactResearcher Impact
SEiR Documents
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

Research Support  Tags: theses research eprints endnote impact_factors web_of_science citations liaison_librarians academic_writing literature_review referencing libraries journal_impact  

A guide to library services and resources available for post-graduate students and researchers at UTAS.
Last update: Oct 29th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/researchers  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Keeping Current            Print Page
  

Types of Alerts

Many databases contain tools to assist you in keeping up to date with advances in your chosen area of research. Once alerts are established you will receive regular information via email or RSS Feeds.

Table of Contents (ToC) Alerts

Receive the Table of Contents of each issue of your favourite journals as they are published

Saved Search Alerts

Have a specific search run at regular intervals with the results emailed to you

Citation Alerts

Be notified when an article of your choosing has been cited by a new article

      
     

    Library News


    Loading RSS Feed...
     
     

    How to establish alerts

    Databases which offer alerting systems usually require you to become a registered user. This is a free one off process completed on the database homepage and commonly involves creating a user name and password. Users need to be logged into the database to establish alerts.

    Attend a library workshop to learn how to set up alerts for literature in your research area.

    Databases offering Alerting Services

    Subject Guides may help you to identify which databases index literature relevant to your research topic. Some of these will have options for setting up alerts. You may like to start with:

    • Web of Knowledge  
      Registration entitles you to create a set of preferences to guide your searching. Table of Contents alerts can be created from the ‘My journal list’ section.
    • Web of Science  
      You may save your search history and create an alert for any new records matching your search terms. Citation alerts are useful to identify who is citing your own work or key articles in your field.
    • Scopus  
      Register to create a personal profile. Save searches or create search alerts from the search results page. The ‘Alert me’ link within the full record of an article will enable you to establish a citation alert.
    • Other databases offering alerts  
     
     

    RSS Feeds

    RSS feeds may be used as an alternative to email, to receive alerts from some databases and web-sites.

    Once you have subscribed, alerts are delivered to your chosen 'feed reader' as an XML file.

    Bloglines and Google Reader are two of the many free, web-based feed readers available.

     

    RSS feeds are shown as screen shot of RSS icon or screen shot of RSS icon or screen shot of xml icon

    Using RSS (pdf)

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait