Other libraries in Tasmania
Some societies, private companies and many commonwealth, state and local government organisations in Tasmania have their own libraries. Resources from most of the listed libraries are available on Document Delivery and usually this is the preferred method of accessing those resources. The extent to which these libraries may provide assistance to UTAS staff and students varies, though most are willing to try. The list of libraries is not comprehensive but it outlines some of the known access constraints.
- Australian Antarctic Division (AAD) Library
Specialises in the Antarctic, sub-Antarctic, Arctic (if relevant) and cold regions (if relevant). Collections cover subjects including history, geography, exploration, science, medicine, engineering, law, politics, environment and toursim. - --AAD Library Guide--
- Australian Bureau of Statistics Library
Subjects: Census of population and housing; Demography; Historical statistics; Economic statistics; Social statistics. - CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research Library
Subjects: Ecology; Fisheries; Marine biology; Oceanography, Aquaculture, Genetics. - Defence Science and Technology Organisation (DSTO) Library
Subjects: Food analysis; Food engineering; Food specifications; Food technology; Microbiology; Nutrition; Physiology. - Department of Infrastructure, Energy and Resources. Mineral Resources Tasmania Library
Subjects: Environmental aspects of mining; Geology; Geomorphology; Geophysics; Groundwater investigations; Hydrology; Mineral exploration; Mineralogy; Palaeontology; Petrology and geochemistry; Sedimentology; Structural geology. - Department of Infrastructure, Energy and Resources. Transport Library
Subjects include: Bridges; Road engineering; Road safety; Traffic engineering; Transport. - Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment (DPIPWE) Library
Subjects include: Air Pollution; Environment; Mapping; Natural Resources; Park Management; Surveying; Waste Disposal - Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery Library
Subjects: Anthropology; Art; Conservation; Craft; Decorative arts; Social history; Industrial archaeology; Museology; Natural sciences; Tasmanian history. - Royal Society of Tasmania Library
Subjects: Natural history; Science; Tasmanian history. Books are mainly old standard historical works in Natural science. Papers and proceedings of the Royal Society of Tasmania held in the Royal Society Library, Launceston Library and Science Library.- State Library of Tasmania
Offers a public library service through city and branch libraries within Tasmania, with extensive reference and lending collections.- Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery Library
Subjects: Anthropology; Archaeology; Botany; Decorative Arts; Fine Arts; Geology; History; Museums; Numismatics; Taxidermy; Technology; Zoology. - State Library of Tasmania
Overseas Libraries
- British Library Discover the vast collections of the British Library, including 14 million books, 920,000 journal and newspaper titles, 58 million patents, 3 million sound recordings, and so much more.
- UK/Ireland University and research libraries (COPAC) COPAC provides FREE access to the merged online catalogues of 22 of the largest university research libraries in the UK and Ireland PLUS the British Library.
- Library of Congress This library serves as the research arm of Congress, in the United States of America. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
- WorldCat WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
Document Delivery
Eligible users may request items that are not in UTAS Library collections
Items requested should be related to the research and teaching functions at the University.
We use commercial document suppliers to obtain loan items and articles.
Australian Libraries
As researchers, you may find these useful for identifying which organisations or instituions have particular collection strengths in your areas of interest.
- Libraries Australia A resource sharing service coordinated by the National Library of Australia for Australian libraries and their users. It is used for reference, collection development, cataloguing and interlibrary lending.
- Australian Library Gateway A free Web-based directory service which has information about more than 6,300 Australian libraries, their collections and services.
- Australian University Library websites List maintained by the Council of Australian University Librarians
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait