Journal Abbreviations
Some publications require authors to use abbreviated journal titles rather than full journal titles. These abbreviations vary for different disciplines and follow international standards. Sometimes EndNote can add these in as Term Lists.
- Web of Science Journal Title Abbreviations Abbreviations of journal titles indexed in Web of Science.
- All the JAS : Journal Abbreviation Sources Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations
- CAS Journal Abbreviations These abbreviations are preferred when submitting articles to journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS).
Other bibliographic software
- The Library only supports and teaches use of EndNote
- Other bibliographic software may be preferred in your school or discipline.
- Overview of open-source bibliographic software
About EndNote
EndNote is a bibliographic management tool that allows you to save, organise and use references found from a variety of sources. Using EndNote you can:
-
create a database (library) of references
-
search and download references from electronic databases and library catalogues
-
generate citations and bibliographies in specific styles
The University of Tasmania has an institutional license for EndNote that allows all current staff and students to use the EndNote software.
Help with EndNote
- Online training modules: EndNote X1 basics
A range of short EndNote modules demonstrating basic EndNote activities.
- EndNote X1 Introductory Guide
- EndNote Technical Support and Services
- EndNote Workshops
- Liaison Librarians
- University of Queensland, EndNote Blog
Filters, Connection Files, Output Styles
EndNote enables you to select references from library catalogues, databases and the web using a variety of methods and to add them easily to your EndNote library. You may format your references according to the appropriate style for your discipline or publication. These processes are managed by filters, connection files and output styles.
Working with Word
- Microsoft Office Word 2007 inside out / Katherine Murray, Mary Millhollon, Beth Melton. 2007.
Also held in print in the Launceston and Science libraries, at: Z 52.5 .M52 M88 2007
Installing EndNote
You may borrow a CD-ROM with the EndNote program from our campus or branch libraries or locate it on the UTAS www site and then extract and unzip these files onto your computer.
Referencing
- Assignment presentation and referencing UTAS guide to a variety of referencing styles
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait