Journal ImpactResearcher Impact
SEiR Documents
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

Research Support  Tags: theses research eprints endnote impact_factors web_of_science citations liaison_librarians academic_writing literature_review referencing libraries journal_impact  

A guide to library services and resources available for post-graduate students and researchers at UTAS.
Last update: Oct 29th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/researchers  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Open Access            Print Page
  

About OARs

  • also known as a digital archive or institutional repository
  • a digital (electronic) collection enhancing scholarly communication with free, searchable, open access to publications, research and/or teaching materials
  • commonly include journal articles, book chapters, conference papers and proceedings, and theses
  • valuable source of "grey literature" e.g. unpublished papers, working paper series, technical and project reports
  • support principle of broad access to outcomes of publicly-funded research
  • likely to increase impact of research on diverse community
  • increasingly used to promote individual research publications or those of discipline groups, academic units or universities
  • may increase cites on original paper by up to 250%, depending on discipline - read more
  • often either subject-oriented and set up by scholarly or professional societies, or institutions
  • self-submission a key characteristic\
  • increasing number of excellent data repositories
      

    Open Access (OA)

    Open access publishing is the process of removing barriers such as price and copyright or licensing, in order to enable free, online access to full-text literature.

    • Creative Commons  
      Provides free tools that let authors, scientists, artists, and educators easily mark their creative work with the freedoms they want it to carry.
    • SHERPA Romeo  
      A SHERPA service, summarising permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement. It uses colour coding to highlight publishers' archiving policies.
     

    Open Access Repositories (OARs) and Gateways

    • UTAS ePrints  
        
      A digital archive that provides full-text access to publications including journal articles, books, conference papers and theses, by current University of Tasmania staff and higher degree students.
    • eCite.UTAS  
        
      A digital archive that provides access to research outputs at the University of Tasmania. This is the official UTAS collection point for scholarly papers arising from federally-funded research.
    • Australian Research Online  
        
      Includes all contents of UTAS ePrints and other Australian university and government research repositories, as well as the Australian Digital Theses repository. Provides access to over 310, 000 records of research outputs, including theses; preprints; postprints; journal articles; book chapters; music recordings and pictures.
    • OAIster  
        
      Currently provides access to approximately 20 million records from over 1000 contributors. Digital resources include items such as digitised (i.e., scanned) books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies and data-sets.
    • Subject-based repositories  
      See the Subject Guide for your discipline to identify relevant subject repositories e.g. arXiv, for physics, mathematics and computer science

    Indexes and Directories to OARs

    All repositories have their own search engine, usually offering a variety of access points including author and keyword. Additionally, the content of many are indexed by multi-discipline databases e.g.

    • Google  
      Indexes UTAS ePrints (recognising it as an authoritative site compared with a personal web-page) and many other open access repositories.
    • Google Scholar  
      Index and extensive fulltext access to multi-discipline, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers & professional societies.
    • Scirus  
      Searches over 480 million science-specific Web pages, with multi-disciplinary contents of many digital archive collections.
    • Scopus  
      Indexes more than 1200 open access journals as well as linking with the Scirus search engine to provide access to many reputable institutional or subject repositories.
    • OpenDOAR  
        
      An authoritative, international directory of academic open access repositories.
    • Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)  
        
      Promotes open access to the research literature, pre- and post-peer-review, through author self-archiving in institutional eprint archives.
      Registry has two functions: (1) to monitor overall growth in the number of eprint archives and (2) to maintain a list of GNU EPrints sites (the software Southampton University has designed to facilitate self-archiving).
    • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)  
        
      Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages. Now 4362 journals in the directory.
     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait