Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Why use them?
Dictionaries and encyclopaedias are great to use to start your research
You can:
Define your topic using subject dictionaries
Find background information in encyclopaedias
Identify other keywords and alternative terms for database searching
Recommended online sources
- CREDO reference
Includes the full text from the Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music, the Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music, the Harvard Dictionary of Music and the Penguin Dictionary of Music. - Grove Music Online
Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. - Oxford English Dictionary Online
- Britannica Online
Online Encyclopedia
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- Major modern dramatists
- Continuum companion to 20th century theatre
- The Shakespeare name dictionary
- Critical survey of drama
- The world encyclopedia of contemporary theatre
- Brewer's theatre: a phrase and fable dictionary
- International dictionary of theatre
- The concise Oxford companion to the theatre
- Dictionary of performing arts in Australia
- Oxford encyclopedia of theatre & performance
- Encyclopedia of the musical theatre
- Concise companion to theatre in Australia
- Companion to theatre in Australia
Help!
Need help working out what your lecturer wants you to write about? Learn how to analyse your assignment question - try our Library eTutor
Topic analysis tutorial
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait