Citing a dictionary or encyclopedia entryCiting a filmCiting a reviewCiting booksCiting journalsCiting thesisCiting webpagesIn-text citationPuncuation & quotations
Citing BooksCiting Conference ProceedingsCiting Encyclopaedia or DictionaryCiting Film and RadioCiting imagesCiting Journal ArticlesCiting Newspapers and MagazinesCiting Online Forums or Discussions GroupsCiting Secondary SourcesCiting Thesis or dissertationCiting Web PagesCorporate Author (govt., corporation or assoc. document or report
A guide to HarvardCiting annual reports or corporate plansCiting blogs or listservsCiting booksCiting brochures, pamphlets or leafletsCiting CD ROMsCiting conference papersCiting emailsCiting encyclopaedia or dictionaryCiting exhibition catalogueCiting film DVD videoCiting imagesCiting journalsCiting legislationCiting Magazines and NewspapersCiting media releasesCiting personal communicationCiting podcastsCiting radio and TVCiting secondary sourcesCiting student practical or laboratory manualsCiting webpagesCiting wikisSample reference list
BibliographyCiting book reviewsCiting booksCiting encyclopedia or dictionaryCiting journalsCiting LegislationCiting previously cited workCiting web pagesQuotingTraditional note
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

Referencing and assignment writing  Tags: referencing essay_writing citing  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/referencing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Bibliography             Print Page
  
 

Bibiography

Bibliography

In the traditional note system, it is more common to use a bibliography than a list of references. In some cases when you use endnotes rather than footnotes, an additional bibliography may not be required. (Check with your lecturer).

At the end of your assignment, attach a list of all material which you have consulted in preparing your work. The list may contain items which you have chosen not to quote from or which you have decided were not helpful. Nevertheless, these items have formed part of your preparation and should be included. The list thus produced forms your bibliography. It is possible that your bibliography may contain just one item, the primary text, if that is honestly all you have used. The bibliography is organised according to the authors' last names which are arranged in alphabetical order.

Bibliographical entries differ from footnotes or endnotes in a straightforward way that is easy to remember. Bibliographies end assignments, and each component of an individual entry is presented in final form, punctuated by full stops.

Bibliographical entries may vary in complexity. In general, use the following ordering systems as your guide in presenting material. Appropriate punctuation is shown.

 

Books

  •  
    • name of author/s, editor/s or institution responsible for the book.
    • Full Title of the Book : Including Sub-title.
    • volume number or total number of volumes in a multi-volume work.
    • edition, if not the first.
    • city of publication :
    • publisher,
    • date of publication.

Serials

  •  
    • name of author/s.
    • "Title of the article."
    • Title of Serial
    • volume number,
    • no. issue number
    • (date):
    • page range of whole article.

Examples

Books:

Levine, Joseph M. The Battle of the Books : History and Literature in the Augustan Age. Ithaca : Cornell University Press, 1991.

Boswell, James. The Life of Samuel Johnson. Edited by George Birkbeck Hill and L.F. Powell. 2 vols. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1934.

Soltes, Ori Z., ed. Georgia: Art and Civilization through the Ages. London: Philip Wilson, 1999.

Chapters:

Holloway, John. "Dickens and the Symbol," in Dickens 1970, edited by Michael Slater, 50-63. London : Chapman Hall, 1970.

Theses:

MacFarlane,I. "Aboriginal Society in North West Tasmania: Dispossession and Genocide." PhD thesis, University of Tasmania, 2002.

Serials:

Ray, William. "Reading Women : Cultural Authority, Gender and the Novel : The Case of Rousseau." Eighteenth-Century Studies 27 (Spring 1994): 421-47.

Gold, Ann Godzins. "Grains of Truth : Shifting Hierarchies of Food and Grace in Three Rajasthani Tales." History of Religions 38, no. 2 (1998): 150-171.

Masterton, Mark. Review of  The Sleep of Reason: Erotic Experience and Sexual Ethics in Ancient Rome, edited by Martha C. Nussbaum and Juha Sihvola.  American Journal of Philology 124, no. 3 (2003): 477-81.

Journal article from electronic source

McDougall, K.L., B. A. Summerell, D. Coburn, and M. Newton. "Phytophthora Cinnamomi Causing Disease in Subalpine Vegetation in New South Wales." Australasian Plant Pathology 32, no. 1 (2003): 113-15. http://www.publish.csiro.au/?act=view_file&file_id=AP02074.pdf.

 

Web sites:

University of Tasmania Library. "Management Subject Guide". University of Tasmania Library. http://www.utas.edu.au/library/info/subj/management.html

[Only add access dates if the information is time sensitive.]

 

Legislation-Statutes:

Marriage Act 1961 (Cth) s 11  

  

Statute accessed from a web site

Tourism Australia Act 2004 (Cth) s 24 <http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/cth/consol_act/taa2004222/s24.html> (6 December 2004)

 

 
 

Style manual

The referencing recommendations in this guide are based on the Chicago manual of style. 15th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003. Please refer to Chapters 16 and 17 of that manual for further examples.

Print friendly version

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait