Citing a dictionary or encyclopedia entryCiting a filmCiting a reviewCiting booksCiting journalsCiting thesisCiting webpagesIn-text citationPuncuation & quotations
Citing BooksCiting Conference ProceedingsCiting Encyclopaedia or DictionaryCiting Film and RadioCiting imagesCiting Journal ArticlesCiting Newspapers and MagazinesCiting Online Forums or Discussions GroupsCiting Secondary SourcesCiting Thesis or dissertationCiting Web PagesCorporate Author (govt., corporation or assoc. document or report
A guide to HarvardCiting annual reports or corporate plansCiting blogs or listservsCiting booksCiting brochures, pamphlets or leafletsCiting CD ROMsCiting conference papersCiting emailsCiting encyclopaedia or dictionaryCiting exhibition catalogueCiting film DVD videoCiting imagesCiting journalsCiting legislationCiting Magazines and NewspapersCiting media releasesCiting personal communicationCiting podcastsCiting radio and TVCiting secondary sourcesCiting student practical or laboratory manualsCiting webpagesCiting wikisSample reference list
BibliographyCiting book reviewsCiting booksCiting encyclopedia or dictionaryCiting journalsCiting LegislationCiting previously cited workCiting web pagesQuotingTraditional note
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

Referencing and assignment writing  Tags: referencing essay_writing citing  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/referencing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citing journals             Print Page
  
 

Citing journals

An article in a journal:

 Rose, Phyllis. “Huxley, Holmes, and the Scientist as Aesthete.” Victorian Newsletter 38 (1970): 22-24.

 This is an article in a journal that is continuously paginated (i.e. consecutive issues in the same year will have numbers that follow on continuously from one issue to the next). Some journals are not continuously paginated, in which case you will also need to include the issue number as well as the volume number. For example,

 Smith, Johanna M. “Constructing the Nation: Eighteenth-Century Geographies for Children.” Mosaic 34.2 (2001): 133-48.

 

Article in an online journal

 There are two main types of these articles. Firstly, there are articles available as part of an archival database, such as Project Muse. These should be cited as follows.

 Bailey, Suzanne. "Somatic Wisdom: Refiguring Bodies in The Ring and the Book." Victorian Studies 41 (1998): 567-591. ProQuest. 12 April 2002.

 Provide any information you know about the printed equivalent, and also provide the title of the database (here, ProQuest), the date of access, and the relevant URL within the database (as in the entry below) or, if this is too long and complicated, the URL for the database’s search page (as in the entry above). If the service provides only the starting page number of the article, then indicate this as follows: 567-.  For articles that have no print equivalent, there may be no page numbers. You should cite the number of paragraphs or sections, if these are numbered. For example:

 Chan, Evans. “Postmodernism and Hong Kong Cinema.” Postmodern Culture 10.3 (2000): 43 pars. Project Muse. 28 July 2004.

 The second type of online journal is one that is available independently. To cite an article from this source, follow this example:

 Dane, Gabrielle. “Reading Ophelia’s Madness.” Exemplaria 10.2 (1998). 22 June 2002.

 This journal has no page, paragraph or section numbers, so the entry ends with the date of publication.

 
 

Style manual

If you cannot find an example for what you are looking for then use the MLA manual.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait