Citing a dictionary or encyclopedia entryCiting a filmCiting a reviewCiting booksCiting journalsCiting thesisCiting webpagesIn-text citationPuncuation & quotations
Citing BooksCiting Conference ProceedingsCiting Encyclopaedia or DictionaryCiting Film and RadioCiting imagesCiting Journal ArticlesCiting Newspapers and MagazinesCiting Online Forums or Discussions GroupsCiting Secondary SourcesCiting Thesis or dissertationCiting Web PagesCorporate Author (govt., corporation or assoc. document or report
A guide to HarvardCiting annual reports or corporate plansCiting blogs or listservsCiting booksCiting brochures, pamphlets or leafletsCiting CD ROMsCiting conference papersCiting emailsCiting encyclopaedia or dictionaryCiting exhibition catalogueCiting film DVD videoCiting imagesCiting journalsCiting legislationCiting Magazines and NewspapersCiting media releasesCiting personal communicationCiting podcastsCiting radio and TVCiting secondary sourcesCiting student practical or laboratory manualsCiting webpagesCiting wikisSample reference list
BibliographyCiting book reviewsCiting booksCiting encyclopedia or dictionaryCiting journalsCiting LegislationCiting previously cited workCiting web pagesQuotingTraditional note
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

Referencing and assignment writing  Tags: referencing essay_writing citing  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/referencing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citing Books             Print Page
  
 

Books

    Key: [R] References  [T]  In-text

A book

T:     (Sternberg, 1993)
R:      Sternberg, R. J. (1993). The psychologist's companion (2 ed.). Cambridge:
              Cambridge University Press.

Multiple works by the same author in the same year are distinguished by adding a letter to the date. For example (Priest, 1990a) (Priest, 1990b).

 

A book with two authors

T:     (Smith & Jones, 1948)
R:     Smith, F. J., & Jones, E. (1948). A scheme of qualitative organic analysis. 
              London: Blackie.

 

A book with three to five authors

T:     (Fischer, Demetriou, & Dawson, 1992)
If citing for the second time list the first author and year (Fischer et al., 1992)

R:     Fischer, K., Demetriou, A., & Dawson, T. L. (1992). The development of mental processing: efficiency,
               working memory and thinking.
Boston: Blackwell Publishing.

 

A book with six or more authors

For works with six or more authors cite the first author only followed by et al. within the text, however include all authors in the reference list entry.

T:     (Jones et al., 1992)
R:     Jones, K. K., Peters, F., Ho, L., Wang, W., Reddy, F.P., & Smyth, R. (1992). Advances
              in mental processing: Memory and thinking.
Sydney: Apex.

In the reference list single authors go before multiple authors, for example:
Fischer, K. W., (1992)... before Fischer, K., Demetriou, A., & Dawson, T. L. (1992)....

 

Edited book

T: (Hartman, 1994)
The editor's name occupies the author position for the in-text citation.

R: Hartman, G. H. E. (Ed.). (1994). Holocaust remembrance: The
          shapes of memory.
Cambridge, MA: Blackwell.

 

Chapter in an edited or non-edited collection

T:     (Bjork, 1989)
R:     Bjork, R. A. (1989). Retrieval inhibition as an adaptive mechanism in human
               memory. In H. L. Roediger & F.I.M. Craik (Eds.), Varieties of memory and
               
consciousness (pp. 309-330). Hillsdale, NJ: Erlbaum.

For a non-edited collection include the word ‘In' prior to the book title and omit the editor information.

 

 

Print friendly version

APA tutorials

 

Need more help?

Ask a librarian via web form

OR

visit our webpage

 

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait