Citing a dictionary or encyclopedia entryCiting a filmCiting a reviewCiting booksCiting journalsCiting thesisCiting webpagesIn-text citationPuncuation & quotations
Citing BooksCiting Conference ProceedingsCiting Encyclopaedia or DictionaryCiting Film and RadioCiting imagesCiting Journal ArticlesCiting Newspapers and MagazinesCiting Online Forums or Discussions GroupsCiting Secondary SourcesCiting Thesis or dissertationCiting Web PagesCorporate Author (govt., corporation or assoc. document or report
A guide to HarvardCiting annual reports or corporate plansCiting blogs or listservsCiting booksCiting brochures, pamphlets or leafletsCiting CD ROMsCiting conference papersCiting emailsCiting encyclopaedia or dictionaryCiting exhibition catalogueCiting film DVD videoCiting imagesCiting journalsCiting legislationCiting Magazines and NewspapersCiting media releasesCiting personal communicationCiting podcastsCiting radio and TVCiting secondary sourcesCiting student practical or laboratory manualsCiting webpagesCiting wikisSample reference list
BibliographyCiting book reviewsCiting booksCiting encyclopedia or dictionaryCiting journalsCiting LegislationCiting previously cited workCiting web pagesQuotingTraditional note
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

Referencing and assignment writing  Tags: referencing essay_writing citing  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/referencing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

MLA             Print Page
  
 

General

Condensed and adapted by Dr Elle Leane (School of English, Journalism and European Languages) from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (Sixth Edition).

 The examples and information provided here will not cover every citation scenario you come across. For more detailed information, consult the MLA Handbook, available in the Morris Miller Library at Ref LB 2369 .G53 1999, and in Launceston at Ref 808.027 G437m2003. Information in this guide is condensed from chapters 3, 5 and 6 of that book.

 There are two main components of the MLA system that you need to be familiar with: how to list your references at the end of your essay, and how to cite these references in the body of your essay. Sections A and B of this guide deal with these two components respectively. Section C deals briefly with quotations and punctuation.

 

Listing your sources

 In the MLA system, you provide a list of "Works Cited" at the end of your essay. The following are some basic dos and don’ts to remember when composing your list:

  • Only include in this list works you have actually cited in the essay. 
  • Indent the second line of each entry, and every line after that.
  • Do not dot point the entries.
  • Pay attention to the placement of commas, periods, colons, etc.
 
 

Style manual

If you cannot find an example for what you are looking for then use the MLA manual.

 

Need more help?

Ask a librarian via web form

OR

visit our webpage

 

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait