Dictionaries & encyclopaedias
Why use them?
Dictionaries and encyclopaedias are great to use to start your research
You can:
Define your topic using subject dictionaries
Find background information in encyclopaedias
Identify other keywords and alternative terms for database searching
Codes and standards
- Australian Standards online
Licencing allows for 2 concurrent users only. - Building Code of Australia online (with Australian standards relating to the BCA)

Licencing allows for 5 concurrent users only. - NATSPEC Use your e-mail username up to the @ and your e-mail password to log in. Not all documents are printable
Recommended online sources
- Oxford art online
Includes Grove art online
Licencing allows for 6 concurrent users only - Credo reference
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design since 1900
Time Saver Standards for Architectural Design: Technical Data for Professional Practice
Harris Dictionary of Architecture and Construction
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- A dictionary of architecture
- A dictionary of architecture and landscape architecture
- Dictionary of Architectural and Building Technology
- Contemporary Architects
- International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture
- Sir Banister Fletcher's : A History of Architecture
- Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture
- Encyclopedia of Architecture Design Engineering and Construction
5 volumes - Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World
3 volumes
Help!
Need help working out what your lecturer wants you to write about? Learn how to analyse your assignment question - try our Library eTutor Topic Analysis tutorial
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait