Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Why use them?
A good way to start your research is to use dictionaries and encyclopaedias like the ones listed on this page. Define your
topic by using subject dictionaries. Find background information
in encyclopaedias and handbooks. Its important to get a broad understanding of your topic before you start narrowing your research. Dictionaries and encylopaedias can help you identify other keywords and alternative terms that you can use in your database searching.
Recommended online sources
- Credo Reference Science collection
Search across a selection of science related reference sources - Collins dictionary of biology
Includes definitions in the following fields of biology; biochemistry, ecology, evolutionary theory, genetics, molecular biology, physiology and taxonomy. Describes techniques and tests commonly used in biology - Dictionary of developmental biology and embryology
Provides definitions to classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology - Guide to seashells of the world
Identification guide to a wide range of shells from all over the world - Guide to the oceans
Covers the genesis and evolution of the oceans, the history of exploration, leisure on the oceans, sealife, and ocean resources - Illustrated dictionary of science
Covers the main scientific disciplines, including biology and ecology - Keywords and concepts in evolutionary developmental biology
Provides explanations in the genomic, developmental, organismal, population, and natural selection approaches to evolutionary change - Macmillan dictionary of toxicology
Coverage includes biochemical and environmental toxicology, chemical carcinogenesis, risk assessment and risk management as well as those aspects of analytical chemistry and molecular biology that are of importance in toxicology - McGraw Hill concise encyclopedia of science and technology
Covers more than 90 disciplines of science and technology - McGraw-Hill dictionary of scientific and technical terms
Definitions to commonly used terms in science and technology - New Penguin dictionary of science
Provides definitions to a wide range of disciplines in science
Recommended sources on your library shelves
Look for these in our libraries. Click on the link to find the location. Ask a librarian if you don't know how to find them
- Aqualex : a glossary of aquaculture terms
- AustAsia aquaculture trade directory
- Codex alimentarius. Vol. 9A, Fish and fishery products
- Dictionary of aquaculture : a guide to commonly used words and terms
- Elsevier's dictionary of fisheries
- Elsevier's dictionary of fishery processing, fish and shellfish names of the world in five languages, English, French, Spanish, German, Latin
- Encyclopedia of aquaculture
- Encyclopedia of food science and technology
- Encyclopedia of ocean sciences
- Fishes of Australia
- Fishes of Australia's south coast
- Foods & nutrition encyclopedia
- Zoological catalogue of Australia
Your librarian |
Ian BollardHelp!
Need help working out what your lecturer wants you to write about? Learn how to analyse your assignment question - try our Library eTutor Topic Analysis tutorial
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait