Regional databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UTAS Home

Admin Sign In 

History  Tags: history  

Last update: Jun 12th, 2009 URL: http://utas.libguides.com/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

How do I find journal articles?             Print Page
  
 

CrossSearch

Search multiple subject areas and databases at once

CrossSearch

Search Google Scholar


(search results open in a new window)
 

e-journals

The library has many ejournals you can browse online. Click here to find some relevant titles

 

Key databases

Click here for databases relating to a particular region

  • British Humanities Index  
      
    Indexes over 370 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers.
  • FEMINAE (Medieval Women and Gender Index)  
      
    Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Advanced search feature. Comparable, in its field, to Historical abstracts or International Medieval Bibliography. Recommended.
  • Historical abstracts  
      
    Abstracts over 2000 academic history journals, and covers world history (excluding USA and Canada) from 1450 to present. Also includes around 3000 citations annually to books reviewed in the abstracted journals.
  • International Medieval Bibliography  
      
    An interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period400 - 1500. Over 300,000 articles derived from 4500 periodicals and 5000 other volumes.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Full text archival backfile for hundreds of major humanities journals.
  • Philosopher's index  
      
    Includes abstracts of articles on the history of ideas, and the Enlightenment. 1940+
  • Project Muse  
      
    Full-text access to 150 top academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. Good coverage of history. (Recent years only)
  • ProQuest  
      
    Good starting point to many full-text journal articles. Includes references to and some full-text articles of popular and academic journal articles. Good history coverage. (Time coverage varies per journal).
  • Sociological abstracts  
      
    Good coverage of books, journals conference papers and dissertations. Includes topics such as Art History, Economic History, History of Ideas, History of Sociology, Intellectual History, Life History, Oral History, Political History.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Citation database of core academic journals in all subjects. Incorporates Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975+
  • Worldwide political science abstracts  
      
    Abstracts of international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including historical topics.1975+
 

Your librarians

Profile ImageSchool of History
Contact Info:
Scott Wylie (Hobart)
Morris Miller Library
6226 2225
Scott.Wylie@utas.edu.au

Susan Bell (Launceston & Burnie)
Launceston Campus Library
6324 3139
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Send Email

 

Help!

 

Need help with searching in journal databases? Try our Library eTutor searching databases tutorial

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait